Our Half-Assed Summer Preview, Part One

Oh, hay, we’re finally doing a summer preview!

Yeah, the Air TV wallpapers always make me think of summer.

Oh, yeah, and these are in broadcast order… but don’t look at us for those broadcast dates – did you even read the title of this post?

Anyway…


Ikkitousen: Great Guardians

Summary: Preparing for the battles to come, tournaments and to fight against new opponents from over the world, Hakufu is working to have enough money to make her dream true. But she doesn’t consider that new allies and enemies will come to scene, and also being a weak leader to the eyes of her companions. A sister also appears. She doesn’t even know her mom’s past so better to star from the local stuff before attempting to go worldwide. (ANN)

Thoughts:

Day: Yeah, ok, great, more drivel with panties. No thanks.

Depth: Well, I never watched the first two, so I’m not gonna watch this one. I’m sure its just like the first two.

Telepathy Shoujo Ran

Summary: Ran is a bright and energetic first-grader in junior high school who possesses supernatual abilities. Together with Midori (her friend who also has supernatural powers) and Rui, the threesome are constantly embroiled in mysterious circumstances. Ran is troubled by her powers because it seems to spark off the ill intentions of people in contact with her. However, with the support of her family and peers, Ran learns to deal with her ‘other’ side and accepts who she is. The threesome also learn how to team up as a whole and solve these mysterious events. (ANN)

Thoughts:

Day: While I wish Ran was just a wee bit older, this looks interesting enough to check out. And the characters don’t look like lolis, so I’ll tune in for the first episode (by which I mean scour the intertubes for the first fansubbed episode).

Depth: Wait, is that the girl from Pretty Cure?

Chocolate Underground

Summary: In the series, the Good For You party passes a law that forbids the consumption of chocolate after 5 in the evening appropriately called the Chocolate Prohibition Law. It prohibits all sweet things, including chocolates, because they are harmful to one’s health. Two boys, Huntley and Smudger, stand up to fight against the law. With help from Louise and other friends, they begin to bootleg chocolate. (AnimeNfo)

Thoughts:

Day: This is an ONA, just for the record. And it looks really cool. I never read the Chocolate War, but it sounds a bit like it, and I did read the book Candy Freak (author is something Almond), which made me into a candy freak, so I’m definitely going to watch it.

Depth: Do I get candy if I watch this? Because I’m not gonna be able to watch this if I don’t get any candy during it or after. Also, I go to school where the bootleg booze flows freely, so, uh… I dunno, this has bootleggers, I’m in.

Ultraviolet: Code 044

Summary: Adapted from a Hollywood movie of the same name.

Main character “044″ is a female warrior who is genetically engineered with high combat skills and ordered by the government to annihilate a vampire army. (AniDB)

Thoughts:

Day: While the promo stuff for this looks kind of cool animation-wise, I have really bad memories of Ultraviolet and am planning to skip it.

Depth: Madhouse has been bringing us some good junk lately, so I’ll watch the first episode. Also, it has vampires that are not emo but just killing machines. Good-byeeee, Vampire Knight!

Slayers Revolution

Summary: Lina and Gourry are back, this time on a quest to find a new sword for Gourry. There will also be a new character, Pocota.

Thoughts:

Day: Oops, bet you can tell someone who knew nothing about the show wrote the summary… anyway, I never saw the original Slayers and have never felt the need to, either. Skipping.

Depth: I used to love Slayers. Then it just got old (LOL I MADE A FUNNY). But I’ll look at the first episode, at least.

Antique Bakery

Summary: Tachibana, grandson of a rich businessman and newbie in the world of managing; Ono Yuusuke, famous pastry chef and even more infamous “devilish homosexual”; Kanda Eiji, a retired young boxer with a thing for pastries; Kobayakawa Chikage, servant friend of Tachibana and current romantic interest of Ono, who is clumsy yet serious and stoic to a fault (most of the time). Together, these four men maintain a small yet elegant cafe known as “Antique”, where they and all their customers can come together to cherish one of the few but truly important things in life: cake. (ANN)

Thoughts:

Day: YES YES YES! I love this series. I stopped watching Junjou Romantica because it was way too over the top, so I’m eagerly awaiting this to fill the space thus vacated. One of the things I like best about this series is that not every single guy in it is gay – it’s great, because with this kind of thing I want a little more realism. I’m really looking forward to this.

Depth: Not my thing at all, I’ll pass… or try to, I have an awful feeling that Day is gonna make me watch this with her.

Hidamari Sketch x365

Summary: Yuno has just begun school where she always wanted, Yamabuki High School. She moves out and into an apartment by herself in a complex called Hidamari-so, which is right in front of the school. There, she meets a classmate, Miyako, and a senior student, Hiro. Yuno’s days become hectic as she begins meeting the strange artists that live in her complex. Although she’s not used to her new life style, she begins to actualize her dream while being with these gentle friends. (Wikipedia?)

Thoughts:

Day: Whenever I try to remember this, all I can picture is Manabi Straight. I’m also still bitter that I never found subs for Sketchbook~Full Colors~. Maybe I’ll watch an episode.

Depth: Slice of life makes me slice of sad. I don’t care if its funny.

Strike Witches

Summary: When a mysterious force suddenly attacks the world, only the girls who have magic can fight against them. They install weapons in their own bodies and fight in the sky, the land, and the sea. The battle to protect the world begins. (Wikipedia)

Thoughts:

Day: I like airplanes, but not enough to watch this junk – and this is coming from a person who dragged her sorry-ass through fifteen episodes of Cluster Edge. Ugh, too much moe.

Depth: I like airplanes enough to watch this.

Birdy the Might Decode

Summary: While pursuing a criminal, the pretty but reckless interplanetary police officer Birdy Cephon Altirra accidentally kills Tsutomu, an earthling high school student. To make amends, Birdy is forced to share her own body with Tsutomu’s spirit so that he can continue his own life. At first, Tsutomu knows nothing about his situation but soon discovers that his body is starting to take certain actions without his mind ordering it. In times of action, Birdy takes full control of their shared body, transforming it back into her original female form. (ANN)

Thoughts:

Day: I remember watching the OVA a few years back, and I loved it and was sad that there wasn’t more. I’m really looking forward to this. This is the series I’ve been hyping to people whose reactions have basically been ‘meh’ about it. If its anything like the OVA, its win.

Depth: I watched one episode of the OVA. Tsutomu made Shinji Akari look like he was GAR. Not happening.

Natsume Yuujin-Chou

Summary: Natsume Takashi has the ability to see spirits, which he has long kept secret. However, once he inherits a strange book that belonged to his deceased grandmother, Reiko, he discovers the reason why spirits surround him. Containing the names of these spirits, a binding contract was formed between the spirits and the owner of the book. Now, Natsume is determined to free the spirits and dissolve the contracts. With the help of a spirit cat, his days are filled trying to return the names to these spirits. (ANN)

Thoughts:

Day: Sort of looks like a reverse CardCaptor Sakura. I’ll check it out.

Depth: The spirit cat looks awesome in a demented way. Also, there are only 13 episodes. If the 1st episode is any good, I might even blog this.

Mission-E

Summary: Sequel to the previously aired Code-E, set five years after the final episode in near-future Japan. It will feature a new a new lead named Maori Kimizuka, who will join Ebihara Chinami, the lead from the first season. Both are TYPE-E users adorned in the above pictured rainbow uniforms, and wield supernatural abilities. OZ, the place Chinami and Maori work at, aims for the the adaption of TYPE-E users into society, are in hostility with the “Foundation” who advocate the isolation and control of TYPE-E users that those men belonged to. (AS)

Summary:

Day: The first episode of Code-E bored me to death, and I have severe doubts that this would be any different.

Depth: I’m biased against color-coded promo art.

Overall:

Day is excited about Birdy the Might Decode and Antique Bakery, so she might blog them. Depth isn’t really excited about anything, but might blog Natsume Yuujin-Chou because it’s short.

Rest of the preview to come later today or sometime to-morrow. Its a holiday weekend here, so who knows.

This entry was posted in A Day Without Me, Depth Charge, News Items and Commentary, Season Previews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Half-Assed Summer Preview, Part One

  1. Baka-Raptor says:

    Birdy sounds crazy enough to check out. As for Antique Bakery…

Leave a Reply

