MISSION ACCOMPLISHED

FUCK YEAH

I am now officially an official officer in the United States military. What you see above is a shoulder board, proof of that fact – shoulder boards are worn on my dress uniform and indicate both my rank and my branch.

Anyway, on a more practical level vis-a-vis this blog… I have a ton of catching up to do. I have a bunch of shows from last season I haven’t been able to wrap up yet, and I haven’t seen any of the “new” season’s shows. I also am woefully out of date on the state of the aniblogosphere – I could step into a minefield of bloggy drama completely accidentally! Better call the EOD team!

On a personal level, I spent about twenty days total either sleeping outside or in crappy tents, and had a grand total of ten showers over the course of a month – and half of them only came in the last week of that, you do the fun math. At one point I went eight days without bathing! My scalp was dying! I also managed to lose about twelve pounds from the joyous combo of excessive energy expended and poor diet. Aaaand I sprained my ankle, was encouraged strongly to leave the field, and went back out anyway – look up GAR! My picture is there!

Then I came home and took an eight hour nap, fully ensuring that my sleep cycle is totally fucked. And I’m still tired.

Over the next few days I’ll probably finally get to watch summer season shows. I also have been toying with the idea of posting my journal entries from training just for shits and giggles. Do they have anything to do with anime? No. Do I care? Of course not! Its my blog, bitches! I DO WHAT I WANT.

Only thing in this post relating to anime: the list I made throughout of anime I either wanted to watch or re-watch when I got back.

  • Samurai Champloo*
  • Revolutionary Girl Utena: Adolescence Apocalypse*
  • Valkyria Chronicles
  • Hetalia Axis Powers
  • Aoi Hana
  • Blue Seed*
  • Outlaw Star*
  • Kobato.*

Stuff with an asterisk is a re-watch. All of the ‘first’ watches are ones I dropped at some point.

In other news, I just saw that Bandai licensed Turn A Gundam while I was gone. Seriously? I think my head just imploded. Time to go steal a netbook so I can afford to buy it when it comes out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to MISSION ACCOMPLISHED

  1. Shinmaru says:

    Shit, that’s way more badass than anything I’ve done. Congrats!

  2. Baka-Raptor says:

    Yay for Day :)

    Stop spraining your ankles though. I’ve sprained each of mine once. They’ve lost a lot of flexibility.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I think I may’ve died of shock to see you include a smiley face in a comment.

      I’ve sprained this ankle before… and apparently one of the times was this spring? I just saw a picture of me with it all wrapped up from springtime, but I honestly don’t remember it, which makes me feel mildly disturbed at how much alcohol I must’ve had last semester.

  3. glothelegend says:

    “No. Do I care? Of course not! Its my blog, bitches! I DO WHAT I WANT.”

    By this quote, I’d say that your blog is more along the lines of an ISSS.

    Sounds like you had a kick ass time. Fuck I should join the army. I don’t think I’m allowed to on the count of flat feet and poor eyesight. Although who knows. You’ve encouraged me to murder my body for the next 2 weeks at least…if I have time….which I won’t.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Flat feet and poor eyesight are not at all an impediment – my eyesight is awful, and I know several people who are flat-footed who did just fine.

      I highly encourage murdering your body for the next two weeks. I tried running yesterday and realized that my ankle is still very sprained. Damn.

  4. Crusader says:

    Congradulations on becoming a butter bar, ma’am. FYI the SFCs of the US Army still outrank you in practice. We sailors have a tradition of having Bull Ensigns, the longest serving O-1 gets to lead the other O-1s in important butter bar business. Not sure if the Army has that tradition but if you do I hope one day you too can wear a goofy hat before you make 1LT.

    Bah twenty days outside and in tents, as an enlisted member and a low ranking peon I scoff at your 20 days and raise you 3 plus months in the Middle East, ma’am. You have not seen a trashy tent until you have seen some of the hand me downs the reserves and national guard get, ma’am. As for the EOD team I hope you remember the proper way to call in IEDs and UXOs, ma’am. As for your sprained ankle…you want a Purple Heart with that too, ma’am?

    You feeling ARMY STRONG? You tracking? Too Easy Right? :P

    /snide remark by enlisted about officers with inter service rivalry

    Protip get a good pair of boots and remember good goods are never cheap, cheap goods are never good.

    Hope you have fun at your first duty station, I look forward to hearing about your first deployment.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Already got to wear the goofy hat – bad enough that they don’t have an indoor female latrine, I get to wear a retarded looking hat too! And twenty day outside/in tents is mighty impressive considering the longest I’d ever done that before was four days… and, shh, you’re not supposed to point out that it really isn’t that much to all these anime shut-in types ;) I’m working on getting into a deployable unit, though, so surely I’ll be able to remedy that.

      As for tents… hmm, I dunno, ROTC gets all the Vietnam equipment after all… my flashlight couldn’t illuminate a teacup.

      Ugh, UXO’s. Don’t even wanna think about that, it just brings to mind a painful experience wherein I had to dictate one to my own squad leader because he had NO idea what he was doing. He was on the radio and repeated each line after me. Ouch.

      Army strong? Well, we did have a running joke about Army fat… all those blasted MRE’s! And I’m terribly addicted to the dairy shakes, too… I’m going to hold my tongue on the

      As for enlisted Navy… aww, come on now, we all know being in the Navy is basically the same as going on a cruise… only thing cushier would be jetting around with those Air Force folks, right? I’ve seen your bases! A trashy tent to you guys means there was no room service, huh? ;)

      My good pair of boots got jacked up very early on =( It involved quicksand, and they never really recovered.

      • Crusader says:

        Ma’am I have never been on a big grey ship, I wish that was the case but there is no hiding from ground pounding for sailors, I walk around with the same amount of gear you guys do only I have no Humvee of my own. Unlike the Amry folks out here who have a sweet motor pool wheeled and tracked. Also the Go cart we build out of junk broke…

        Ah the MRE milkshake you lucked out for a while we had to toss those because of salmonella contaminating a whole batch. Still if you think that is the bane of the Army waist line your DFACs out here are horrid, cookies with white chocolate and macadamia nuts, Baskin Robins ice cream, real milkshakes, and sublime carrot and cheese cakes.

        A good pair of Danner TFX will last you a while, Oakley makes some nice ones too. Minimal need to break them in unlike those black boots of ROTC crapiness.

        A trashy tent for us is a Marine Corps Hand Me down that was ptiched many moons ago by a unit that left theater eons ago. Oh some of you guys get brick buildings with AC. Also officers always get better berthing than enlisted.

      • adaywithoutme says:

        Actually! Funny thing about those tainted milkshakes – I did actually get sick from that tainted batch, I kept telling my entire platoon about a year ago to pass theirs on to me, which they happily did, as so many people dislike them. I had three in a row and suddenly felt violently ill. Amusingly enough, it was the next day that we got word of the salmonella…

        Sounds like someone other than all those Army folks are getting some waistline help, hmm?

        I liked the black boots! I’m still annoyed that they ever changed at all. My boots were so good that I could’ve slept in them so comfortably.

        I dunno, do Marine hand-me-downs even count as tents? I was under the impression that they just killed something, dug its insides out, and used it as a sleeping bag.

  5. Zyl says:

    Congratulations on your commissioning!

  6. Pingback: Mission Accomplished, Achievement Unlocked, I am Still Alive…

Leave a Reply

