The Legit Autumn 2011 Season Preview

With 100% less trolololololololololololol

But, admit it – my original season preview was AWESOME and SO TRUE. Or, at the very least, it reflected the knee-jerk reaction engendered by the announcements of the line-ups for each successive season!

I’m going the usual route that I now do with this; just going to talk about those shows I’ll be checking out for various sundry reasons. There are plenty of other previews you can read for a more in-depth look at what is coming down the pike, and by now you surely have anyway. This is my anime blog so I DO WHAT I WANT.

Ahem, anyway, here are the ones I’m actually looking forward to with an expectation of enjoyment:

  • Chihayafuru
  • Mirai Nikki
  • Un-Go
  • Persona 4

Ok, actually, with Persona 4 its more like I’m expecting it to look cool as opposed to anticipating finding it very enjoyable. Although, that isn’t to say I expect it to not be enjoyable – I just know so little about the original games themselves, so I really have no idea of what I’ll be getting into with watching it anyway.

Honestly, the going in blind thing applies to two of the remaining three; I’ve read a small bit of the Mirai Nikki manga and seen the “OVA” for it, so despite the fact that the studio has never done anything good and the director has never done anything good, I’m looking forward to it. I also admittedly don’t tend to put a huge amount of stock in director and studio prior to, since crap studios and directors have been known to suddenly turn out good works before. Daume had given us the likes of Please Twins and DearS before they did Shiki; the director had directed the Macross season no one liked and things like Lemon Angel and Jewel Hunter BEM (in looking at his credits I also had this crazy moment when I saw he directed St. Luminous Mission High School, a really fucking obscure show I watched about a zillion years ago – six fucking degrees, folks!) (actually. St Luminous does actually work as a precursor to Shiki directorial-wise, as it concerns a small population with mysterious things happening to it; however, the people are disappearing, not dying, and it has a happy ending… oh, yeah, and there’s a totally unconvincing trap). So even though its asread and Akane-iro ni Somaru Saku (is that title right? I pulled it out of my ass, and I’m not gonna bother checking), I’m still looking forward to it.

Also, hey, at least Akane-iro had the balls to pull actual incest instead of all these stupid shows where it turns out they’re not actually related! Good job, Akane-iro. You paved the way for the twincest sex scenes in Yosuga no Sora!

Anyway, where was I?

Un-Go. Well… I’m disappointed that they’ve updated the setting, because I don’t really see why that is necessary. I think they just wanted to be able to use all the cool technology stuff they showed in the promo, which is lame. I personally think that whodunits suffer from the increasing prevalence of technology within them, so I’m frowning away on that front. However, I really love mystery stories, so I’m looking forward to this anyway. Folks say Gosick got better, but I didn’t finish it so I can’t really comment on that… to me it seems like its been a very long time since we’ve had a good mystery show. I would even go so far as to suggest that the last good one was Mouryou no Hako. But, again, maybe if I re-visit Gosick I’ll feel differently.

And, then there’s Chihayafuru. It sounds interesting, what with that poetry-based card game! And I want good Madhouse back! And its josei! And not josei that involves women being in bad relationships! Sweet!

Everything else:

  • Tamayura~Hitotose~
  • Guilty Crown
  • Mashiro-iro Symphony
  • Kimi to Boku
  • Ben-to
  • Sekai-shitty the Second Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi Season Two

Ok, first off, let me address Mashiro-iro Symphony’s presence on there. The show looks like a steaming pile of crap, and the promo was shockingly derivative. Even after all the harem crap we’ve had every season for the past eighty years I was fairly amazed at how unoriginal every single aspect of the promo was, from the music to the art to the characters. However, there was also a really fucked-up looking cat in the promo, and I want to see it, so I’ll watch the first episode.

Speaking of crap, the first two chapters of the Kimi to Boku manga were eye-bleedingly boring. But, well, maybe it gets better… and I’m also rather curious about the presence of a cute boys doing cute things anime in the world of anime. There are so many cute girls doing cute things that it does catch ones attention when the genders are swapped. So, yeah, pretty thin reason, but so it goes.

Ben-to looks weird. It is sufficiently weird-looking enough to make me watch the first episode. I have my doubts about an entire show being about people fighting over bento in the grocery store, but, well, checking it out doesn’t hurt.

I also have doubts about Tamayura~Chitotose~ being able to really work as a TV series, too. I really enjoyed the OVA, particularly episodes two and three, but I just don’t see how they can stretch it into an entire TV series. I just see it having a lot of padding. At least, though, Junichi Sato will be returning to a Japanese setting, so I won’t have to suffer through stupid stabs at cultural observation/commentary. Face it – Frenchy Frenchy Croisee’s French setting is just window dressing, and it has very little to do with the show. They could’ve set it anywhere and had the same idiotic things about soup spoons and chopsticks and being shy in a foreign culture. Hell, you could just put them in a snobby boarding school in Japan and have them be from a humble background and it’d have the same lame role in the show as France has in Croisee. But I digress – Tamayura~Hitotose~ will probably get dull fast as a twelve episode show. Too bad.

Oh, for Sekai-shitty: The Shit Returns I should note that I’ll follow someone blogging it, and when the C-storyline shows up I’ll watch, but I’ll ignore everything else. Man, that show is worse than Junjou Romantica, which is really saying something. At least Junjou Romantica had decent B and C storylines! Sekai-shitty just has one! Ugh, couldn’t they do us a favor and adapt something like No One Loves Me instead?

Hmm, Guilty Crown. Sounds pretty meh to me, but I usually give noitaminA shows a chance. I see more boobage on the presumed-to-be main female character than I’d like. Oh well, I’ll watch the first episode at least.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Legit Autumn 2011 Season Preview

  1. Pingback: Autumn Potpourri 2011 | ganbatte.

  2. Nazarielle says:

    Good job, Akane-iro.

    I don’t mean to rain on your parade, but they did somewhat hint at the fact that they weren’t blood related, though it was always just implied. But thank goodness they did, Yosuga no Sora was a masterpiece, a true work of art.

    However, there was also a really fucked-up looking cat in the promo, and I want to see it, so I’ll watch the first episode.

    Pannya is awesome. Uryuu~

    Hmm, Guilty Crown

    I seem to remember someone gushing about it, but I’m not sure who. I can’t even remember what the premise is now that I think of it. Oh well, guess I’ll see when the season actually starts.

    • A Day Without Me says:

      Shush, in the anime they never clarified like they do in the games! Blood relations until proven explicitly otherwise!

      Guilty Crown’s premise is pretty yawn-inducing. But I guess I tend to give noitaminA shows at least a chance since theoretically they’re more likely to be good…. oh, hey there Fractale! How’s it going?

  3. Pingback: This Genius’s Compendium For The 2011 Fall Anime Season | Organization Anti Social Geniuses

  4. Justin says:

    I still wonder what type of story Tamayura will actually be. You think it’ll borrow from the OVA a bit?

Leave a Reply

