Winter 2014 Season Preview

nobunaga the fool

Better late than never.

I’ve probably used that excuse before, huh? And not just on season previews.

I had meant to state this in one of my week in review posts, but haven’t been able to do any of those of late, so I’d just like to state here that if you’ve never proposed to someone using a DVD from a somewhat-infamous 90′s OAV, you need to get on my fucking level.

Alright! The stuff I’m actually looking forward to:

  • Pupa
  • Houzuki no Reitetsu
  • Nobunaga the Fool
  • Sakura Trick
  • Noragami

Pupa! Pupa! This was supposed to happen in the autumn, and there was a lot of back and forth about what form it’d take, since then it seemed it was going to be an ONA with terribly short episodes, but, nope, TV series… which, admittedly, may mean it has to tone down its whole thing a bit, but, eh. I love horror, and, if I’m totally honest… I kind of love sibling incest shows that aren’t playing it solely for the fetish factor. But, anyway, eat your heart out, Oreimo! (~literally~)

Hozuki Reitetsu is about adults and its steeped in folklore, which sounds like a winning combo to me. I know I probably sound like a broken record, but I’m so hideously bored of teenagers, by and large. The medium may force me to have an endless tolerance for stories centered around teenagers, but if I were given the option, I would want half of all shows to be about adults instead.

Nobunaga the Fool has a character named Jeanne Kasuga d’Arc. I feel like that alone explains why I’m watching it. And while I tend to ignore the staffing of a show and the studio doing it (being firmly committed to the notion that, sure, it is indicative, but that anyone or anystudio can suddenly have a shining moment or suddenly tank the fuck out), Shoji Kawamori is doing this one, and I loved the hell out of AKB0048 and Aquarion EVOL. This is honestly my most-anticipated title of the season. Oh, yeah, and there’s a mech that has a horse mech UM HELLO G GUNDAM WHAAAT

I originally had no interest in Sakura Trick, since “yuri” + 4-koma is so often a complete miss for me, in large part since much of the time it ends up being yuri of the completely inferred variety. However, the two girls in Sakura Trick actually do cop to liking each other, and there are actually other lesbian couples in it, so I’m going to give it a whirl and even feel a teensy bit optimistic.

Noragami stars, in part, a deity who writes his name on a bathroom stall because he doesn’t have any shrine. How could I not be interested? It also smells a bit of potential OT3, as there’s the deity, a girl who bonds with him because her soul isn’t tied down to her body too well, and a boy who can be used as a weapon by a god. Awww yeahhhh OT33333333333

And other shows I’ll be checking out:

  • Buddy Complex
  • Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha
  • Wizard Barristers
  • Nobunagun
  • Strange+
  • Haikyuu!!

Buddy Complex looks a hell of a lot like Valvrave, except instead of the initial love interest somehow managing to survive getting hit by a missile, she dies. There isn’t anything at all that looks unique or intriguing about this, but its title is Buddy Complex, so I can’t really pass it. I also can’t really help but suspect that the title is Sunrise fucking with us all hardcore.

Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha I like the sounds of, until I saw that series composition is being done by the person who did Karneval’s. That drew me up a good bit short and rather sharply, too. Still, I’m holding out hope that this’ll be a good show, as I like the premise – its a nice change of pace that the deity met by a girl is a female deity, not a male one, even though this isn’t yuri.

Wizard Barristers has an intriguing premise, but I’m a bit put off by the art style.

Nobunagun is a portmaneau of Oda Nobunaga and gun, which is hard to say no to, but the premise sounds more bland than not. Of the Nobunaga shows on offer this season, I much prefer the looks of Nobunaga the Fool, but will still be checking this out.

Strange+ sounds a bit odd – guy goes looking for brother but ends up joining detective agency that his brother is part of. The descriptive material is a fairly vague, to be honest. I like mysteries, though, so I’ll give it a go.

Haikyuu!! is about boys playing volleyball, and it could be the new homoerotic under-14′s do sports show, so whyyyyy nottttttt?!?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter 2014 Season Preview

  1. A. says:

    Very interested in the upcoming season–even more interested in the proposal. Tell moar? :D

  2. supervamp78 says:

    Really no space dandy?
    And pupa still plays it eroticly at times

  3. Aleris Celt says:

    Haha I read the manga for Pupa– it’s really depressing. I wonder if the anime can match the manga’s quality though.

    I’m definitely gonna try out Buddy Complex because Valvrave is awesome, but what’s up with that title?!?! Also Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha used to be one of my favorite manga!!! Thing is, I don’t really like watching an anime when I already know the bulk of the plot… ):

Leave a Reply

