A Glance at Mai-HiME Rebundei Nekohime

mai-hime-blah-blah

From the people who brought you the brilliance known as Mai-HiME, Mai-Otome, and the Mai-HiME Destiny novels comes…

Mai-HiME Rebundei Nekohime. Try saying that five times fast.

This latest incarnation of the franchise is a light novel which is being released online in PDF format on the franchise website.

From what I can glean from the website, Mai-HiME RN seems to be like Mai-Otome and Mai-HiME Destiny in that we are basically given the same general cast of characters as we did in the first run-through, a.k.a. Mai-HiME, but with a new protagonist, in this case some blonde girl with a perpetual bandage on her nose. Mikoto appears as a cat in this, like she did in Otome, and Haruka is moe… and has bigger boobs than ever. Mayo, the big-breasted, amnesiac, split-personality’d, handcuffed lead of the Mai-HiME Destiny light novels also appears to be a character in this, but don’t take my word for it because my Japanese comprehension is on par with a third-grader. There is also a blonde girl with armor and the most ridiculous boobs ever seen in the franchise… which is saying something since the aforementioned Mayo sports a bust measurement of 90 cm.

Anyway, this isn’t exactly news, per say, but given that they’ve actually put up some of the light novel itself is, I suppose, worth noting for fans of the franchise.

I also mention it because there have been some very hazy rumors that maybe-maybe-maybe Sunrise will be bringing us this in anime form, and that this is the reason that the Mai-Otome 0~S.ifr OVA’s have had such a lag time between episodes. But I wouldn’t hold my breath, since the Destiny novels haven’t gotten any anime incarnation, and I would expect them first just due to their existing first, and I’m sure Sunrise has already started huffing some more Gundam glue for its next take on that franchise.

On the other hand, the Mai-HiME franchise has given them a decent return on their investments, so I wouldn’t entirely rule it out… but I’m sort of hoping that if anything gets an anime version it’ll be Destiny because I want to giggle over the utter stupidity that is the plot-point that Mayo is inexplicably restrained by mysterious, indestructible handcuffs… at all times.

As an aside, I was just looking over the list of Sunrise shows because I couldn’t remember if they were working on anything other than Gundam 00 and Sora wo blah blah blah lately, and I noticed that Cluster Edge somehow got an OVA. For those of you who don’t remember, Cluster Edge was a Gundam-esque show which featured airplanes instead of giant mechas. It was also one of the most boring shows I have ever seen, and, looking back, I can’t for the life of me understand how I endured fifteen episodes of it. I’m an airplane junkie, and I hated it! What the hell, Sunrise?

EDIT: Oh, and, no, I don’t know if Mai-HiME RN features any of the vague lesbianish content that has made the other pieces of this franchise so famous.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Glance at Mai-HiME Rebundei Nekohime

  1. Lbrevis says:

    I’m still waiting for the day when Sunrise stops making spin-offs in which the original characters have been reduced to parodies of their former selves (or cats) and instead gives us a proper sequel to Mai-HiME.

    Ok, I’d settle for a Destiny anime too. The whole handcuff thing really is just too hilarious to pass up.

  2. adaywithoutme says:

    I’m not really sure how they could do a sequel to Mai-HiME, honestly, since they pretty much tied up all the loose ends. I wouldn’t mind a prequel though – perhaps we could see how exactly Mashiro ended up being the one sealed up for however many years it was?

    Yeah, the handcuff thing is pretty ridiculous, even by Mai-HiME standards.

  3. nogizaka says:

    I want the original cast of mai-hime with a second season instead of another spin-off *_*

  4. Highman says:

    Apparently there are rumors that Mai HiME will get an sequel by the end of this year. Probably a trailer for the sequel at this year Comiket.

Comments are closed.