Eden of the East Half-Season Review

eden-of-the-east-half

Ah… Eden of the East. It’s awesome.

I’m pretty sure there’s nothing I can say about this show that eight-hundred other bloggers haven’t shouted ad-nauseum already. The characters are appealing, the animation is impressive, the artwork is eye-catching, the music is awesome… I actually can’t come up with any criticisms for this show.

I really liked EotE from the get-go, but it has somehow managed to surpass my expectations even so. Part of this is due to the direction in which it is going; instead of going with a sort of thriller/action plot, which is what I expected given that Akira is apparently part of a terrorist organization, it has gone a little more quietly, giving us an intriguing look at modern Japanese society and how its youth relate to the central social structures. In particular, Saki’s job search strikes a chord, perhaps moreso in its failure thus far than it could’ve had she actually gotten employed by now. I also feel that the difficulties of gaining employment as displayed here also resonates with many people, especially of my age, given the current state of the economy.

I find EotE to be intensely intriguing. I want to know what the Selecao are all about, and I also want to see more of our disenchanted post-college graduates and their issues with society. Part of what is making that factor so interesting itself is that Japanese society is so vertical, and as such we don’t tend to get as much about how the younger set chafes against the structure(s). Of course, there is also the fact that for once the focus is on adults and NOT teenagers, something refreshing indeed.

If it weren’t for this and Pandora Hearts (total sleeper hit), I wouldn’t be liking anything I’m watching this spring.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eden of the East Half-Season Review

  1. schneider says:

    I could totally relate with Saki’s employment problems, but then again I wasn’t beef bowl’d…

  2. usagijen says:

    Darn, Baka-Raptor beat me to it. but yeah, no love for Cross Game? 😦

  3. Kairu Ishimaru says:

    What about K-ON!?

    Meh, Im just kidding.

  4. adaywithoutme says:

    @ Baka-Raptor and usagijen – Cross Game is on my to-watch pile, because, sadly, I’m addicted to watching 07-Ghost since apparently I enjoy raging epically in my pathetic pursuit of BL… or I’m just bizarrely stuck in a hope-springs-eternal moment as pertains to said show, something rendered bizarre by the fact that in real life I’m fairly bitterly cynical. Go figure. But I have been dutifully DL’ing the episodes weekly and saving them up for whenever I get through Gundam X , the second season of Natsume Yuujin-chou, Shikabane Hime: Kuro, and Great Detectives Poirot and Marple.

    I must also confess that baseball anime usually make me feel leery and more inclined to watch some actual baseball instead, which may or may not be a moral failing on my part.

    @ schneider – That moment was particularly cruel, wasn’t it? I was kind of shocked by it, to be perfectly honest.

    @ Kairu Ishimaru – While that lead girl in K-ON!, the one with short brown hair who gets shanghaied into the club in episode one, is quite cute, I don’t have any patience for that sort of junk… maybe if it was all boys and they had some fun homoerotic stuff going on in the background, although even that’s questionable.

  5. omisyth says:

    Meh, episode 6 was kind of slow for me. There’s now way that 11 eps is enough, so there’s always that niggling worry that they just won’t have enough time to get everything sorted out in the show.

  6. 0rion says:

    Love this show. I think you really hit the nail on the head when you said that Saki really serves as an example of modern Japanese youth and the struggles to integrate into society and it’s social and business structures.

    And as you said, it’s nice to see the occasional show that doesn’t revolve around a cast entirely between the ages of 14 and 17. 🙂

Comments are closed.