Valkyria Chronicles Half-Season Review

valkyria-chronicles-half

Mai waifu Alicia, the heroine of Valkyria Chronicles.

One of the great things about Valkyria Chronicles are the characters – they’re fun, they’re endearing, and for the most part they avoid the pitfalls of stereotyping (the most glaring exception is the gay guy in the 7th squad, who is obnoxiously stereotypical and needs to be lit on fire for being such an abomination). They make me really, really want to like this show.

My issues with this show are entirely my own fault, and will not bother most people. I can say objectively that this is a fairly solid show thus far, although I do worry about its lack of direction given that it is currently only slated for a thirteen-episode run. I think most people will really enjoy watching this show. However, if you, like me, have any military experience and your mind stubbornly refuses to forget that fact, this show is going to drive you crazy, because no one acts like anyone in the military should.

Again, though, this is my own issue, and I recognize that it isn’t a fault on the part of the creators or whomever – this isn’t supposed to be an accurate representation of the way the military. Its supposed to be fun! And I can understand that, but I can’t participate in it, unfortunately. Which is too bad, because this is a solid show.

Any legit downsides? Well, as I said before, there’s a bit of a lack of direction to the proceedings, since at episode six of thirteen there hasn’t really been an overarching plot generated. At the same time, though, I figure it must know where its going, since it is based on a game, and games are fairly finite in that, unlike manga y, their tale is entirely in existence by the time an anime adaptation rolls around. We’ll see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Valkyria Chronicles Half-Season Review

  1. Jinxi says:

    It’s going to be a twenty-six-episode run actually. Anyway, I, who had played the game, am not happy with how the anime is proceeding. Too many changes and it’s driving me nuts. I’ve already checked out Episode 7 and it seems that they’re beginning to follow the plot from there.

  2. Fortress Guy says:

    The gay guy was way stereotyped true. However I also felt most of the supporting cast very stereotyped.

    Overall, the anime turned out to be high quality. Well art directed with nicely done vehicles and characters. Less good were the characterizations.

    Here is our take on it with lots of pics and a few bits if wit if you are interested:

    http://fortresstakes.wordpress.com/2009/11/19/valkyria-chronicles-2009-26-episodes/

Comments are closed.