Le Chevalier D’Eon Review

le-chevalier-d'eon

I’m really glad I don’t have a dead, vengeful sibling trying to possess me, aren’t you?

With apologies to The Animanachronism for being so slow.

Le Chevalier D’Eon concerns the French nobleman, D’Eon du Beaumont, whose recently murdered sister is found in a floating coffin on the Seine. D’Eon is, understandably, upset, but soon finds himself being swept up into a web of intrigue and politics which he understands little of. At the same time, mysterious beings stalk the streets of Paris, controlled by chanting people known simply as ‘Poets’. When the king sends D’Eon and his new compatriots to Russia in pursuit of a book known as the Royal Psalms, D’Eon begins to slowly become aware of the role his sister really played in the Europe he thought he knew.

That’s not exactly a good summary, I’ll admit – I didn’t even mention D’Eon getting periodically possessed by his dead sister! – but Le Chev is hard to summarize without giving away massive plot-points, so I hope you’ll excuse that fact.

I have to admit that, ultimately, I feel very divided about Le Chev – on the one hand, it is well-constructed, and I did enjoy it in the end. But, on the other, I found the effort to generally be curiously lacking in soul. This became most apparent to me when a main character perished, and I did not feel in the slightest bothered by it, as I hadn’t ever truly connected with the character. Everyone was upset on-screen, but I just sort of felt like shrugging.

Oddly enough, I would have to say that this is one of those shows you watch for the final quarter of the show or so. I say this is odd because the early parts aren’t bad, per say; they’re just sort of… I don’t know, average? They have great production values, and some really good characters, but they aren’t terrifically engaging. I watched them because I did feel inclined to know what happened next, but I never felt like I would be greatly upset were I to have them taken away from me before completion – maybe I’d feel a bit annoyed, but the unknown factor wouldn’t’ve gnawed at me at all. On the other hand, if someone had taken my final two volumes and set them on fire, I would’ve been angry and demanded replacements, since by then the story had ratcheted into high gear and was really quite good.

So I feel pretty conflicted by the whole thing, because I’d like to recommend it, but feel pretty ambivalent about a good chunk of it. Given such, it seems that the potential viewer is a HUGE factor in whether I’d recommend it or not. The impatient? Skip it. Those who are willing to watch solid but unspectacular stuff for eighteen episodes to get to a great set of six final episodes? I’d say you might as well give it a whirl. And if you happen to like alternate history-type shows, I’d definitely tell you to watch.

I suppose this means that I’d deem it good overall, but fairly flawed in the sense that it lacks heart for the most part. This is honestly a bit of an irritating final assessment, since it doesn’t exactly answer the question a review is supposed to – should I watch this?

Watch with a grain of salt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Le Chevalier D’Eon Review

  1. I’m pretty sure people with ‘anachronism’ in their names don’t get to complain about speed.

    D’Eon sounds quite promising, as I enjoy half-decent alternate history and I’ve trudged through some unspectacular Gundam stuff in the past. The show has a reputation for good production values, as well.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      It has excellent production values – the folks at IG really did their homework, as they nail the period visually (with the exception of this horrible purple dress of Lia’s which D’Eon wears a few times). The art is, quite simply, fantastic, and the animation is generally smooth. The soundtrack itself wasn’t particularly memorable, but the ED is good, perhaps in part because the singer/songwriter watched the accompanying animation first before doing anything.

      I would actually put it above ‘half-decent’ but nevertheless have a warning note about the difficulty in connecting with the characters.

Comments are closed.