And in the real Japan…

yukio-hatoyama

Y’know… the Japan that isn’t over-run by mechs and magical girls?

Actually, these days the magical girl does seem kind of endangered…

Anyway, as you may or may not know, PM Taro Aso, a.k.a. that Japanese politician who liked manga, is out… and Yukio Hatoyama, cheerfully nicknamked ‘Alien’ (a step-up from Aso’s nickname – PM Asshole), is in by a landslide. But, hey, let’s be honest – none of us really give a shit about that. Instead, what matters at all is his wife, Miyuki Hatoyama.

miyuki-hatoyama

“But, Day, she isn’t a hot loli… why do we care about her?”

Because an alien took her to Venus in her sleep. Why do I get the feeling that Michelle Obama wouldn’t ever claim/admit to something like that? Jimmy Carter, one of America’s previous presidents, has claimed to have seen a UFO, though; he’s the only one who ever has. Go, Carter, go!

Actually, what is more interesting about Hatoyama is that she was in Takarazuka for six years. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Takarazuka, it is an all-female acting troupe that has been around since 1913. Takarazuka has had a heavy influence on shoujo, as it heavily influenced the seminal Rose of Versailles, which itself, of course, had a great deal of influence on the fledgling genre in the 1970’s.

OK, SO MAYBE I JUST THOUGHT IT WAS COOL THAT HATOYAMA WAS IN TAKARAZUKA AND WANTED TO FORCE YOU ALL YOU KNOW THAT.

Yeah, and, ok, so maybe I was feeling a little guilty because I haven’t posted in a while… which sounds a little silly, but I feel somewhat beholden to my readers, particularly as I’m bummed when my favorite bloggers don’t post for a while. Sad, isn’t it? In my defense, my room-mate going psycho on me has kind of taken away all my free time – I tell you, its realllly fun to have to counter accusations that you’re trying to kill someone in their sleep. A total party, really.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And in the real Japan…

  1. Baka-Raptor says:

    Dennis Kucinich said he saw a UFO. It was classy of them to ask him about it at a nationally televised debate.

  2. digitalboy says:

    that top image looks like a Japanese Christopher Walken kinda

  3. glothelegend says:

    Quote from the article about this nice first lady:

    “While my body was asleep, I think my soul rode on a triangular-shaped UFO and went to Venus,” Miyuki Hatoyama, the wife of premier-in-waiting Yukio Hatoyama,”

    She went on to add:

    “It was a very beautiful place and it was really green.”

    They’re called dreams you stupid whore.

  4. Snark says:

    “Y’know… the Japan that isn’t over-run by mechs and magical girls?”

    …what? That place actually exists!? EVERYTHING I’VE LEARNED IS LIES!!!

  5. ETERNAL says:

    I don’t follow Japanese politics, but how often do these guys have elections? I swear Aso was only got in last year 0_o

  6. Omisyth says:

    I’m waiting for that NBC “the more you know” tag to appear from somehwere.

  7. saturnity says:

    These people aren’t moé! I didn’t come to Moonland for this!

  8. 2DT says:

    It’s an exciting time to be in Japan, and yet it really isn’t.

    I totally know what you mean about feeling beholden to your readers. But it makes for good motivation, yes?

Comments are closed.