Umineko no Naku koro ni Half-Season Review

umineko-no-naku-koro-ni-op-album-cover

Uguu~

If there’s anything I can’t stand, its being wrong. I’d rather be right and miserable than wrong and happy. This is also, incidentally, why I’d cut off my nose to spite my face. So, yeah, I’m one of those people – so what? You have a problem with it? I’LL KICK YOUR ASS. [1]

Anyway, my point is that I hate being wrong, and I was… SIGH wrong about Umineko when I wrote that scorching critique of how it portrays its women. Basically, the episode after that, a shit ton of the female characters are totally badass and redeem themselves. Ugh, okay, I said it. I also actually found one of the comments on that post to be intriguing – the notion that the portrayal is deliberate in order to critique the ways in which women are treated, particularly in an upper class setting, within Japanese society, i.e. that the women come across negatively because they’ve been driven to extremes by their treatment.

At the same time, though, I remain kind of divided on Umineko, although I primarily feel this is due to the fact that I went into it expecting something more Agatha Christie-esque than I got – Christie had the island, the upper-class people, and the murders, but she didn’t exactly toss in witches and supernatural creatures (she also tended to give servant characters zero development, which speaks more of her own social class than of anything else). I’m not sure if I really like it, as a result – which has much more to do with me as a viewer as opposed to anything inherently flawed with the production. I will say, though, that Battler is one of the weaker characters overall, which is a bit problematic considering he’s supposedly the lead. Ah well.

Ultimately, I’ll say that I’ll keep watching, but I’m not feeling nearly as enthused about the crying sea kittens Umineko as I was when I started it the first time. On the upside, the music is killer (no pun intended, I swear!) – the OP song is gorgeous, quite honestly. And I personally like the ED, although no one else in the universe apparently does.

Well, anyway, here’s hoping Shannon and Kanon actually do get good ends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Umineko no Naku koro ni Half-Season Review

  1. d says:

    I like the ED

  2. urusai says:

    The ED is the best song in the universe. Anyone who disagrees can go get staked.

  3. adaywithoutme says:

    Ok, all of you are the only other people I know in the universe who like the ED – it seems like all the other bloggers HATE it. I think this means they’re all horrendously biased against old men.

  4. S_Reed says:

    I like the ED too. It’s a refreshing change of pace from the boatloads of young female vocals.

Comments are closed.