Kimi ni Todoke at a Glance

kimi-no-todoke

Why wasn’t my high school experience like this?

I actually had no intention of watching Kimi ni Todoke. I’m not a big fan of romance, and everything I’d heard about this suggested it was pure, oozing romance. But I don’t have one of those nifty Crunchyroll accounts, so I can’t watch any of the 367,000 shows they’ve picked up for this season. Given the sheer volume of shows they have snapped up, I’d sapped the new unlicensed shows reserve of fansubs for the current moment… but I was bored. And a bunch of Kimi ni Todoke subs are farting around right now. So… I caved.

And, dammit! Looks like it was actually a good decision.

Kimi ni Todoke is one of those shows that makes high school look like it was actually a good experience for the most part, as Sawako in the first episode gets to know a few of her classmates, and they actually turn out to be… nice. Yeah, there are tons of Sadako cracks, but its demonstrated that once the other kids get past their misunderstandings they’re nice people! People you’d want to know, even!

By the way, I think it shows you how much Jigoku Shoujo has taken over my brain, though, by the fact that I kept expecting a second shoe to drop, even though I knew the storyline didn’t call for that at all. This thing, however, is basically the antithesis of Jigoku Shoujo – instead of people turning out to be totally rotten even though they seemed decent, Sawako’s classmates become better when you get to know them. Bizarre! But in a completely good way. (In the grand scheme of things, my classmates were more like folks you’d find traipsing around Jigoku Shoujo… I shudder to think of the mess there would’ve been had a Jigoku Tsuushin existed…)

I almost died a million times over the gorgeous animation and art direction; it particularly shined during the cherryblossom scene, as many anime are so wont to do so. All I could think was, “Damn, why did my high school have to chop down the only flowering tree within miles to make a parking lot?” (My college is covered in magnolia trees, for the record.) But it would be remiss of me to not mention the animation of the OP and ED, both of which feature animation styles that are vastly different from the show; the OP takes a more artsy approach, whereas the ED goes full-on water colors, to beautiful effect.

And, hey, if I’m gonna mention the technical stuff, I’ll just say this – Mamiko Noto in the lead role. I basically swooned on my keyboard the second Sawako opened her mouth.

So, basically, I have gotten sucked into the Kimi ni Todoke vortex of fan love. Consider me on-board for the season.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kimi ni Todoke at a Glance

  1. Shinmaru says:

    lol I had the same experience with Mamiko Noto’s performance in this episode. Noto can be kind of a mixed bag for me sometimes (I mostly dislike her dumb moe roles like in Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu), but when she gets a role that really fits her, she knocks it out of the park.

  2. Shin says:

    Clannad did the cherry blossom first encounter scene better, just saying :9

  3. saturnity says:

    Indeed. Mamiko Noto’s voice is just so adorable and really fits Sawako to a T. The OP was really beautiful and well-animated. I just wish it was longer than a minute.

Comments are closed.