Sasameki Koto at a Glance

sasameki-koto-manga-cover-4

This season’s yuri du jour.

I’ll have to admit right off that I’m not particularly crazy about the Sasameki Koto manga; as such, I went into this in a more or less languid fashion – my expectations were fairly low. It wasn’t that I had thought the manga was bad – I just didn’t think it was particularly good.

I am happy to say that the anime is better than the manga, and I wonder if its just the fact that animation can breathe a variety of life into things that the static page cannot; I love manga, but it ultimately cannot capture the same living quality as a moving picture can. A picture may be worth a thousand words, but how many words is a video worth?

Anyway, I was still a bit ‘meh’ on the whole thing. I’m not terribly crazy about the main characters, though, which I think is the real issue. Kazama is the ditzy boy-crazy girl… except, instead, she’s girl-crazy. Sumi is the long-suffering friend with a crush. They just really aren’t very noteworthy. And that, in turn, makes me not really care all that much, no matter how well-executed any of it is.

On the other hand, I do have to give some credit to it all – for once the inherent difficulties of homosexual love in a heterosexual culture are brought across, something you really never see in yuri. Kazama gets her heart broken not because the person she has a crush on simply is interested in another; she gets her heart broken because the person she has a crush on would never be interested in the first place, and could never conceive of the notion to begin with. The fact that she can’t pick up on the obvious fact that Sumi likes her that way is further indicative of all this, since she’s basically subconsciously in understanding of the fact that most girls don’t like other girls; she might have her little daydreams, but she doesn’t really expect a girl to like her back, otherwise she wouldn’t’ve been so shocked when her library senpai asked her if she liked anyone.

Buuut… even if Sasameki Koto plays a more realistic game insofar as that aspect goes, it doesn’t transform the show into something brilliant. You know what I remember best about the episode? The soundtrack (it sounded curiously like something you’d hear in a live action movie as opposed to in an anime). What does that tell you?

I’ll be back next week, but… well, I hope it can step up its game.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sasameki Koto at a Glance

  1. Snark says:

    Realistic homosexuality!? In ANIME!?!? What madness!

    Seriously though, that alone sounds like this will be worth a watch.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Eh, I’m not sure I’d call it full-blown realistic… just more realistic, at least as regards the fact that not every single female in it is after the ladies and the fact that getting together with someone of the same sex is still more difficult than getting together with someone if the opposite (in general).

  2. Seinime says:

    Yuri du jour! Wait realistic? What.

  3. Pingback: Sasameki Koto 01 | hontou ni

Comments are closed.