Y’know, that show written by that guy who’s never met a girl before?

kampfer-girlsHint: It starts with a ‘k’ and ends with a ‘ampfer’.

*sighs* So… I’ve decided to drop Kampfer. I can’t even be bothered to type it correctly, in all its fake-ish German glory. Although the first few episodes were strangely fun to watch in a kind of “Wow, this really sucks!” kind of way, its all become too irritating for me to take. Suffice to say, I am not the target audience.

However, before parting, I’d love to ask whether the people who first created this have ever met a girl or woman in their entire lives. Because, quite frankly, I really don’t think they have. No, anime characters don’t count.

Girls actually *don’t* suddenly turn into lesbians in the absence of men. I find it really hilarious that all the girls are depicted as “lesbians” but none of the guys are implied to be gay – no, they just act even more ridiculous about the girls on the other side of the school than usual. But those ladies? Well, if they have no men to fuss over, they’ll just fuss over a pretty lady instead! It isn’t even like they’re in a legit single-sex setting, though, because they know about the guys on the other side and they live in an essentially non-sex-segregated society, so you can’t really pull the Saudi Arabia argument. I mean, I know if I was the main character it’d make sense that they were all crazy about me, but I’m not, so its a little baffling.

On the upside, Natsuru is actually a pretty decent guy, at least. He’s really leagues ahead of so many of the harem leads we get these days.

Also, the girls’ school setting – this is about as accurate as the girls’ schools you see in stuff like Maria-sama ga Miteru where everyone is being all proper. You want an accurate representation of a girls’ school? Watch High School Girls. Its not perfect, but its closer than this. This may come as a shock to many of you, but, when left to our own devices, us ladies end up basically having a locker-room level of discourse like you guys do. Not all of us, but, then again, not all guys do either (hellooo Liberty University). Not only that, but we also talk about fun stuff like periods. BLOOOOD BLOOD BLOOOOOD. TAMPONS!

Sorry, I had to do that… I know it freaks guys out, so I couldn’t help myself… One time in JROTC, we tied a tampon to an inflated trash bag and threw it around the back of the bus during a trip. It was hilarious, and a bunch of the guys started shrieking and flipping out.

Also, if someone like female-Natsuru suddenly appeared on campus, chances are everyone would be a lot bitchier about it. Girls’ high schools are kind of insular, so transfers get tortured before they get accepted. It’s like a sorority, duh.

Anyway, I’ll head this off before someone starts whining – I know, I know: Kampfer isn’t supposed to be high art. But the sheer absurdity of it is a bit astounding. I’ll miss the Entrails Animals, but probably not much else. Oh, yeah, and Marina Inoue voicing a guy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Y’know, that show written by that guy who’s never met a girl before?

  1. nekosasu says:

    That’s why I didn’t even bother watching that series past the first episode, it reeked of fail. Thanks for the confirmation.

  2. Snark says:

    “Girls actually *don’t* suddenly turn into lesbians in the absence of men.”

    What!? Everything I know is lies!!

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Sorry to have shattered your illusions! Other fact you may not know about: not all women are bisexual! Although I feel like revealing the truth to you so quickly may be damaging.

  3. d says:

    “a locker-room level of discourse like you guys do. Not all of us, but, then again, not all guys do either (hellooo Liberty University).”

    sorry can you explain this line? I don’t get it. =( Me need higher english! T.T

    • adaywithoutme says:

      If someone describes a conversation as being ‘locker-room’, it basically means it was dirty, the idea being that when guys are together, all they talk about is sex.

  4. d says:

    looks up the word “insular”

    oh that’s what it means! I thought that’s what guys are like, and girls are suppose to be opposite. For example, put a bunch of guys in a room, 15 min later, they would still be staring at each other silently. But put a punch of girls in a room and in 5 min, they would start chatting.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Yeah, but take a room full of fifteen year old girls who know each other, and then put in a fifteen year old girl no one knows, and it can get kind of messy. Haven’t you ever seen or heard of Mean Girls?

      • d says:

        I was told by girls that it was a blown out of proportion exaggeration and in no way represents the female race in general. I still no idea to what extent girls torture each other. Are we talking punches? Hot rods? Electric shocks? Or just mean comments and isolation?

  5. glothelegend says:

    I’ve met girls, hung out with girls, and even dated girls, and I still don’t fully understand them.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I think people say “Girls are hard to figure out!” or “Guys are hard to figure out!” when actually what everyone should really say is, “People are hard to figure out!”

  6. Sorrow-kun says:

    “One time in JROTC, we tied a tampon to an inflated trash bag and threw it around the back of the bus during a trip. It was hilarious, and a bunch of the guys started shrieking and flipping out.”

    Speaking as a male (who admittedly has a penchant for toilet humour, hence why I liked High School Girls), this is awesome, and you’re awesome.

  7. Baka-Raptor says:

    Do girls actually help pluck each other’s pubic hair?

    (Actual scene from High School Girls.)

    • adaywithoutme says:

      If I recall correctly, the scene was actually that they discovered a pile pf pubic hair and some tweezers in the locker room, in which case the implication more seems to be that one of the girls was plucking her hair in the locker room, not that she was necessarily being helped. I’ve never heard of anyone actually doing that… maybe its a Japanese thing, like how their toilets are in the ground.

  8. Shin says:

    Answer Baka-Raptor please.

  9. Mokuren says:

    I don’t know if the guys who made this have actually never met a girl (thought I suspect so), what I’m pretty sure of is that no part of this show has ever been targeted for anything resembling a girl, in none of its parts.

    Personally, I don’t care how ridiculously inaccurate or overblown the background girls are, it’s clearly not meant to be an accurate or serious representation of a school… For that matter, why nobody ever notices one student randomly skipping school in the boys’ side, and when he’s there another student suddenly disappears from the girls’ side? It’s like Sailor Moon all over again! Why nobody notices?

    What I personally don’t like about the anime itself is the blatant amount of fanservice. Girl-on-girl action is cool, closet rape can be played for laughs, like, once, but after the fifth it kind of stops being funny.

    I’m also curious to see what’s up with those Moderators and what the game is for. I’m at half-series as of now, but I heard comments about how the ending sucks that make me fear I’m just bracing for some heavy disappointment.

Comments are closed.