Worst Characters from Every Show I’ve Seen: Part One

Negativity FTW.

Once upon a time… or maybe it was just last week… anyway, glo rolled out a post wherein he declared, and began, his effort to name his favorite character from every show he’s ever watched.”Damn,” I thought, “That’s a really good idea! Why didn’t I think of it?” and I said as much in the comments.

Sometime between then and the second or third post in the set I was struck with a brilliant idea – why tell everyone which characters I loved in a show? Fuck that! I’d rather tell you which characters I hated! glo encouraged the idea when I mentioned it to him in a comment… so here we are.

Before I start off, I’d like to caution – although I am trying to name my most hated characters from every show I’ve ever seen, there are a good number of shows I’ve seen that I have simply forgotten because I watched them in either middle school or early high school; it was too long ago, so although I know I’m missing some from my list at MAL, I just have no idea what they were. Obviously, though, at the very least, they were forgettable. So this is really more of a ‘Worst Charactrers from Almost Every Show I’ve Seen’ list or a ‘Worst Characters from most of the shows I saw before I was fifteen and all of the worst from all of the shows I’ve seen since’. But, hey, semantics. Let’s go!

ayanami-07-ghost

07-Ghost

(dropped at episode 5)

Well, I dropped 07-Ghost pretty early because it was really boring; I’ve read the first volume of the manga, which moves at a faster pace and just seems to execute things better. Oh well, maybe I’ll try it again some day.

So, who did I hate? Duh, Ayanami – that is his picture there, after all. Maybe he got better as the show went on, but he was so thoroughly stereotypical as a villain, it was obnoxious. He doesn’t show any empathy, is basically invincible, and is quiet all the time. At least the other villains had personalities, Ayanami was just… boring. It is possible to have a heartless bastard for a villain, that is perfectly fine – but you have to at least give them some shred of differentiation from the zillions of others.

Also, he failed to kill Teito even though Teito was still a military cadet and Ayanami is supposedly some big badass whatever. Lame.

11eyes-tadashi

11eyes

(watching; 6 of 12)

I’ve said before that 11eyes is both better and worse than I was expecting. That annoying guy whose face is in the middle of that picture is one of things that is infinitely worse about 11eyes than I ever could’ve anticipated. His name is Tadashi; he is the stereotypical goofy male friend character, except in this case his obnoxious factor is turned up to about 500,000. He is one of the worst characters I’ve ever had the displeasure of enduring the presence of, which is kind of shocking considering how many lousy characters there are out there. I keep wishing he gets sucked into the Red Night as well so someone will stab him in the face. Dream on…

2×2=Shinobuden (a.k.a. Ninja Nonsense)

(on hold at episode 3 of 12)

Its been a long time since I’ve seen 2×2=Shinobuden, so my memories of it are hazy. I seem to recall be irritated by this… thing’s perversion. His name in Onsokumaru, and he’s the teacher of the ninja school. He likes panties and seeing naked girls. I don’t really remember much else.

5 cm per second

(complete)

5 cm per second is one of the shows designed to not have you dislike anyone in it. So it was hard to come up with someone, but if I had to pick one, it’d be Kanae, because she isn’t the girl Takaki originally likes, so she doesn’t have that sweet past history with him – no cute kisses under a tree in the snow after taking hours and hours to get to each other for you!

After War Gundam X

(complete)

This is Olba Frost, the younger of the bad and evil Frost brothers. His only purpose for existence seems to be to say ‘Nii-san!’ a shit-ton (his voice actor even said after the show wrapped up that he’d come to dislike the term because of how much he had to say it), and, I dunno, give Shagia, his older brother, someone to be incestuous with. However, unlike Shagia, he doesn’t have the air of creepiness which makes him at least somewhat interesting. No, this guy just seems to be along only because his older brother tells him to do stuff. He also is the one who kidnaps Tiffa early on while she’s still in intensive care. Loser.

Agatha Christie’s Great Detectives Poirot and Marple

(on hold at 5 of 39)

Surprisingly enough, the worst character in this wasn’t Poirot, who is probably one of the most annoying characters ever (and yet I’ve still basically read all of Christie’s books even though he’s in a good chunk of them). No, Oliver the duck took that distinction. For the most part, Mabel is worked into the storylines well enough, but Oliver sticks out like a tack on the floor, fucking things up by acting in ways that suddenly remind you of how thoroughly anachronistic Mabel’s actions are. I’m really thinking we need some roast duck for dinner.

AIR TV/Movie

(completed)

Ok, so, the worst character in AIR is obviously Misuzu’s lame-ass dad. He sucks so much, in fact, that I couldn’t find any screen caps of him. Maybe I didn’t look hard enough. Or maybe he is a horrible character. Explaining why he’s the worst character isn’t hard – he doesn’t show up until the very end, having ignored Misuzu for most of her life. Good lord, if you’re gonna fucking father a child, at least visit the damn thing. Bitch.

Aishiteruze Baby

(dropped at 4 of 26)

I’m not sure that’s actually the right character, but its the only one that showed up in the image search. Anyway, Natsu gets mad because Kippei won’t spend time with her after he ends up in charge of his five year old cousin. Wow, way to be a winner – jealous of a five year old.

Amatsuki

(dropped at 4 of 12)

Why no picture? Because I don’t remember a damn thing about this, so I can’t choose a character I hated. Oh well. People have said its pretty good, maybe I’ll read the manga sometime.

Angel’s Feather

(completed)

Day, why are there so many characters in that picture? Which is the one you hate?

Answer: all of them. What a perfectly wretched show; absolutely nothing made any fucking sense in the whole damn thing. A lot of people whined, a bunch of them were confused, and then someone sprouted angel wings and cackled or something before flying off. I’m pretty sure this was followed by someone feeling betrayed because the guy they were fucking turned out to be evil or something. I really don’t know; I saw it about four years ago and it didn’t make any sense at the time, so I remember very little.

Animation Runner Kuromi

(completed)

Takashimadaira doesn’t show up until the second half of the OVA, and quickly proves himself to basically be the scourge of otaku everywhere – he encourages Kuromi to cut corners in order to make a deadline! DIEEEEE

Ok, I’m going to have to cut it off there, because while I do have more ‘A’ titles to cover, I’ve already done eleven different shows, and have lots of homework looming in my face, so, I’m gonna have to call it a day. Also: I just discovered the Arabic YouTube – Arab Tubbe! And it has YukitoxTouya AMV’s in spades! AWESOME!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Worst Characters from Every Show I’ve Seen: Part One

  1. You hate Kanae? T_T

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Not really, but I have to pick a least favorite at the very least, otherwise I’m breaking my own rules of negativity.

  2. How in the fucking shit can you hate Onsokamaru? He’s voiced by Norio Fucking Wakamoto! If you don’t like any Wakamoto role you are a failure!

  3. nekosasu says:

    It kind of strikes me as peculiar that out of all those series, I only watched 2×2=Shinobuden (planned on catching up to 11eyes though). But Onsokumaru was fuckin’ aye. Shinobu’s friend on the other hand was godawful.

  4. glothelegend says:

    This is freakin awesome. Too bad the only shows of these that I’ve seen were 07 Ghost(4 episodes)…..that’s it.

    I will say that Amatsuki might be on my “to watch” list maybe (all of the shows are those that I will probably never watch though)…..Nope, never mind.

    Also, your list will probably be longer than mine, because I really haven’t seen that much anime (by most people’s standards). By my standards, I’ve watched a fucking shitload of anime (147 series).

    You’re even doing show that you’re currently watching, I didn’t even bother, because I’m a lazy piece of shit and I suck.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Yeah, I’m somewhere in the three hundreds, I think.

      I’ve heard good things about the Amatsuki anime, but also a lot of gripes that it didn’t get a second season.

  5. saturnity says:

    Oh, this is going to be awesome. I can’t wait ’til you get to Kuroshitsuji.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Fuck Kuroshitsuji. FUCK. I already know who sucks the most though. Actually, shit, two of them were horrible… hmm… decisions…

  6. schneider says:

    Lol it’s Olba Frost. What a loser character, but he worked well in his show.

  7. Shinmaru says:

    Haha, I almost forgot about Misuzu’s shitty father. Hated that dickhead so much.

  8. d says:

    The mom in DtB2 is almost as bad. She never visited his son nor her husband until just before she died, to bake a freaking cake then run off again. Only to be killed shortly after. I don’t even know why her son cried/being emo so much. He barely knew her, could’ve just being any woman on the street. -_-

  9. Baka-Raptor says:

    I’ve only seen two of these anime. For one, you had to pick a character you didn’t hate, and for the other, you drew a stick figure. I can’t wait to see this (up to) 25 more times…

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Well, I’d like for you to try to find a screencap of Misuzu’s lameass dad – he doesn’t even have a name!

      It’ll probably be more then 25 times, since I didn’t finish off all the A’s yet and for some letters I have in excess of twenty shows.

  10. Shiro, Long Tail's says:

    Natsu, from Aishiteruze Baby, was the annoying promiscuous red head. Plus shes a pain to find screen caps for.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Crap, I suspected I had the wrong character from the cap; unfortunately, the link you gave me is broken =(

  11. Sorrow-kun says:

    Nice idea, but why do this for every show you’ve seen? Just focus on the important/interesting ones.

  12. FaS says:

    Yeah, 11Eyes is definitely a mixed bag for sure.

  13. kluxorious says:

    Yeah, forget about Amatsuki anime. Picks up the manga. The anime doesn’t covered half of what’s going on in the manga.

  14. SSSS says:

    lol you complain about the guy in 11eyes, but you do realize he is very rarly there? maybe for a few seconds in a few episodes. not much else

  15. Savannah says:

    OMG Angel Feather. I so agree with you. I suffered through that thing a long time ago. I feel like there was a plot, but they just totally never explained it. Just a bunch of guys with wings saying things that ALMOST made sense. Ugh.

  16. Kat Foxx says:

    Hi, just wanted to let people know why Angel’s Feather didn’t make sense. It’s an OVA prequel to the game of the same name.

  17. Why couldn’t Darth Vader by Misuzu Kamio’s father instead of the 1000% forgettable one? She would have been a much better character!

Comments are closed.