ZOMG LANGUAGE MISUSAGE!!1 OEG!!!!

OMGZ GAIZ THEIRS AN EMERGENSEE COME KWIK!!1

OMG RANKA LEE ALARM CLOK, HELP ME SUMON EVRYONE!!1111

Ok, so apparently there are these folks doing some kind of ‘Otaku Elimination Game’? I’m guessing it’s something like Battle Royale or one of those Saw movie things? Except, instead of challenging people to games in which they have to avoid getting killed or making people slaughter their classmates, they are trying to kill off all those people using the term ‘otaku’ wrong! Man, I guess they must be super Japanese expert types or something! Good thing they’re out to protect us all from misusage of words!

OH MY FUCK NO THEY’RE NOT!

This is where the problem comes in! I guess this is because they’re Japanese or something, since they’re experts on the term ‘otaku’, but they don’t know how to use the term ‘genocide’!

Ok, click here. Now, read the banner.

OMGOMGOMG!!!1 DO YOU SEE IT NOW?>!?!!

“We are genocide.”

I don’t even know where to begin with that one!

Well, let’s see… first of all, genocide is a thing, a concept, an idea. So, it can’t be a person (or a place, so long as we’re rolling with what a noun is!). But I guess these guys are some kind of ultra-secret cabal? But genocide can’t be a group of people either… hmm… but, like I said, I guess they’re Japanese, since they’r experts on a Japanese word, so I can’t get too upset with them for not knowing their English so well.

But, hey, next point – let’s assume that they’re trying to be clever, and they mean that they’re committing genocide. Hmm… but genocide, doesn’t that imply its against a genetic grouping of people? I’m pretty sure Webster’s English specifies that to commit genocide, one must be targeting a specific ethnic, religious, racial, or national group. Admittedly, this is a teensy bit confusing, since religion doesn’t necessarily mean a shared genetic pool! You can thank the way Jews are conceptualized for this, since anti-semitic Europeans spent about two thousand years trying to conflate the Jewish faith with an actual ethnic group. LULZ THOSE SILLY EUROPEANS! I guess since its kind of confusing and complex like that, we can give those Japanese folks over at Otaku Elimination Game a pass, since I guess their first language isn’t English! Learning a language is very, very hard, because there are soooo many nuances, so I can’t get too fussy about their little mistakes, now can I?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ZOMG LANGUAGE MISUSAGE!!1 OEG!!!!

  1. d says:

    well, i know I am like a million level lower than you in terms of religions studies, since it is your major, but isn’t “God” a concept or idea for some people, so for them, when they say “we are God”, or “I am God”, they are not saying they are the thing or person, they are saying they are God according their idea or concept of God, like a certain quality of God or whatever.Correct me if I am wrong, I just think that this might be one of the few cases where you can actually BE an idea or concept.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      God, like a lot of religious concepts, is a really, really controversial term. And is, yes, an exception to the rule of not being able to be a concept. However, thankfully the OEG didn’t claim to be God in any way, shape, or form, so I just stuck with the general de-construction of their claim.

  2. Kairu says:

    GRAMMAR TIEM!?

    Seriously who the hell gives a fuck with this language misusage shit. Quit mentioning that OEG thing. That blog doesn’t deserve any attention really. Let’s not feed the troll.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      It isn’t that I care, exactly, but more that I cannot resist the urge to be an asshat.

  3. ojisan says:

    we are the worllld…
    we are the childrennn…

    And furthermore, We Are Mizuho (good blog, that). And when last I looked, there was a series called I! Me! My! Strawberry Eggs! (not that I’d ever watch it…)

  4. kluxorious says:

    meh I don’t give a fuck about the misused shit/term or whatever. I’m enjoying the genocide act they are trying to commit so yeah, *shrugs*

  5. Shance says:

    GRAMMAR NAZIS,ZEY BE HAILING ZE REICH OF PROPER VORD UZEDGE.

    OEG needs to dissect more and stop being butthurt if they use grammar against a blog and it backfires when the bloggers use grammar back at them.

Comments are closed.