A Flop for All Seasons: Bottom Anime Picks for the Year

When you watch bad shows, snow bunnies get their eyes poked out.

Well, like I said yesterday, I’m doing a post with the worst show for each season.

WINTER 2009

Maria†Holic

Maria†Holic didn’t start out too horribly; it had some pretty decent gags and it was also helped by the Shinbo treatment of it’s aesthetic. Unfortunately, it broke down very, verrry quickly, as Mariya was such a thoroughly nasty character, and the entire proceedings found themselves tainted by him. Quite frankly, by the fourth episode, I was repulsed to the point of being unable to watch. Consider it this way – if, say, Kanako was trying to hide the fact that she was of African ancestry at a racist school, and Mariya blackmailed her over that and the show retained its habit of playing that as a funny thing, people would easily see the repulsiveness of the proceedings. But, no, she’s just a lesbian, its ok to totally degrade her for cheap laughs! Yuck.

And that doesn’t even touch on the fact that Kanako’s lesbianism is demonstrated to, stereotypically enough, be due to a hatred of men that came from trauma in her childhood. Lovely.

SPRING 2009

07-Ghost

07-Ghost, unlike M†H, wasn’t really particularly bad, exactly – it was just boring, something I’m inclined to think was as a result of poor pacing. I’ve read the first two volumes of the manga, and while its nothing impressive, its decent stuff, and doesn’t induce boredom in me. The difference? Stuff that takes five or six episodes to happen in the anime took two volumes in the manga. So while watching Teito fart around doing basically nothing in the church area takes about two hours of viewing time, it takes maybe 45 minutes or an hour of reading time. Ah well.

SUMMER 2009

Umi Monogatari

Umi Monogatari is another title that makes this list in part by dint of its being dull. However, it was also disappointing in a manner that 07-Ghost couldn’t have been, because we had a fairly talented director behind this, that master craftsman known as Junichi Sato, who has directed the likes of Aria and Princess Tutu (along with highly successful shows like Ojamajo Doremi, and, but of course, Sailor Moon). But Umi Monogatari flailed early and never really regained any of the small possibilities it had hinted at in the first episode. It also continued firmly in the tradition of “fake” magical girl, in that it had an obsession with fanservice clearly not intended for the delight of small girls, but instead for the pleasure of older males. About the only thing I found of any merit in the production was the manner in which the show managed to convey its atmosphere, specifically, that feeling of midsummer in a coastal town. Even this wasn’t enough, though, as I found myself soom overwhelmed by boredom, shots of Marin’s butt, and the blue-haired girl’s constant moping/bitching about her boyfriend breaking up with her. I can only hope the show at the very least went away from its portrayal of blue haired girl’s intent to leave and go to college as simply a silly thing that paled in comparison to having a boyfriend. Blech.

AUTUMN 2009

Nyankoi!

Nyankoi! seemed alright, if not especially good, at first. The OP should’ve been a warning, though, as it quickly all devolved into well-worn harem antics. At the same time, though, it seemed to believe that it was something more than a run of the mill crappy harem show, something which only served to heighten the crappiness of the entire thing. Kampfer was bad, but at least it knew that. Nyankoi! apparently never got the memo.

There is also the fact that the whole thing sounded like it was ripped off of 100 Deeds for Eddie McDowd, an American TV show for kids from the late 90’s. In that, the guy gets turned into a dog for being a jerk and is told he only will get to be a human again if he completes one hundred good deeds. Here, the guy is told he’ll become a cat if he doesn’t perform one hundred good deeds for cats. Coincidence? I’m quite honestly inclined to think not, although even if it wasn’t, the whole thing was junk anyway, as it basically degenerated into average harem escapades – they even tossed in twin-tailed twins! Lame.

(I’ll admit, I was tempted to pick Letter Bee since it began to promisingly before succumbing to fanservice and being too clever by half, but it possessing two really impressive episodes puts it far and away ahead of this dreck.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Flop for All Seasons: Bottom Anime Picks for the Year

  1. Shinmaru says:

    Also, some episodes of Maria Holic were just boring as shit and not really funny at all. I don’t think it was the worst series of that season, but at the same time, I can’t object to your reasoning.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I’m sure Akikan could’ve been in the running had I bothered to watch it, although even that’s questionable considering how hideously offensive I found Maria Holic to be.

  2. jpmeyer says:

    Aw man, I was totally expecting Miracle Train for Fall

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Miracle Train, had I watched it, probably would’ve fallen into the camp of ‘so crappy its awesome’. I consider myself to be a connoisseur of crappy shows.

  3. chii says:

    boooooooooo i love nyan koi XD

    but yeah… that’s just cause of the cats totally see where you are coming from 😛

  4. Mokuren says:

    I frankly doubt that Kanako’s lesbianism was more than an execuse to make her go to an all-girls school with a wacky reason.

    It’s not, and never was, a show about a fair and realistic portrayal of lesbians, and while Mariya was annoying, he was so ridiculously overblown it was hard to take him any seriously. It’s like complaining drill Sgt. Hartmann is a jerk (thought I agree Mariya is not at that level of awesome).

    I’m not commenting on the boring part, if you don’t like that sort of shows that’s about it, but it was hardly the worst of its season. I mean: it had GOD in it.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      The problem was that, while it wasn’t intended to be representative of lesbians or homosexuality, it was incredibly mean-spirited nevertheless.

      The dorm head was one of the few bright spots in it, incidentally.

      • TheBigN says:

        The funny thing though is that Kanako isn’t a shining example of a lesbian tough. She’s more like a perverted male otaku in a woman’s body. I’m not saying that’s a good thing or not, but I feel like that was what was being lampooned here. Or at least that was what Mariya rales on her about. Though of course, this wasn’t justified during their introduction. But when you see Kanako’s fantasizing like a perverted old man, I can’t blame Mariya sometimes. I can blame him for a lot of stuff, mind you, but not all the time. 😛

  5. kluxorious says:

    Nyan-Koi? Really? I haven’t watched the show but from people who have watch it, it was recommended but… that happened earlier. Now no one shoved it up my ass anymore.

    I agree with the rest of your pick.

  6. A real shame about Letter Bee. I got too put off by the fanservice too. It’s not that I am unilaterally against fanservice, LOL no. It’s just that in Letter Bee, it feels wrong.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Yeah, I don’t necessarily dislike fanservice; it was that it clashed with the overall tone initially. It then became a means of the show smiling and saying, “Aren’t we soooo clever?” which was, frankly, downright obnoxious.

  7. Sorrow-kun says:

    Kampfer was such a spectacular failure, I’m surprised it’s not on this list. (I find it bizarre that the show was so bad, yet I can’t stop thinking about it. I think that’s a sign of how successful it was as a troll.)

    It’s harder to get a general consensus on “worst” anime than it is on “best” anime, for the simple reason that no one runs out to watch something whenever it gets touted as the “worst” of a given timespan. I’m not sure I quite agree with any of these choices, but that’s because I’ve only seen two of them. My choices would be: Winter – Akikan!; Spring – Valkyria Chronicles; Summer – Haruhi S2; Fall – Kampfer. And yet, as much as I’ve bemoaned this year none of these are really god-awful.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Kampfer knew it was trashy and crappy from the beginning, though, while Nyankoi either believed it was something better or genuinely believed it was. Thus, while I could revel in how stupendously bad Kampfer was, Nyankoi just left me feeling vaguely annoyed. Kampfer also had some weird stealth feminist message that occasionally popped up at the strangest moments, such as when Natsuru expresses during the bra shopping episode that he doesn’t understand why he’s being treated like an object, and that he’s unhappy because of it. It was something entirely unexpected from such a bottom of the barrel effort that I couldn’t help but notice it.

      If I had watched Haruhi S2, I’m sure it would’ve easily surpassed Umi Monogatari on this list. But I’ve never really liked the show (I really dislike Haruhi herself), so I didn’t watch it. Strangely, I dropped Valkyria Chronicles after getting frustrated with its casual handling of the military and war, and I’ve heard it actually got a bit more realistic as the show went on. Ah well.

  8. Baka-Raptor says:

    Someone’s been writing a lot of papers lately. Comma usage has tripled since I was last here.

    K-ON was the worst show of whatever season it aired in.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I need to reclaim my semi-colons.

      I didn’t watch K-ON! because I knew it was something I’d hate.

  9. Gunstray says:

    F_ck I swear you were included Fairy tail in the autumn list, not that its bad but the f_cking circles, waste of time.

    Nyan koi rocked damn it.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I haven’t watched Fairy Tail at all; I thought Rave Master was pretty boring, and the characters in Fairy Tail all looked like they were refugees from Rave Master, so… no watch.

    • kluxorious says:

      I agree. The fucking circles just made it bad T__T

Comments are closed.