Trap Maid Cafe

Trap lovers are in luck.

Not exactly anime-related news, but the first trap maid cafe has been established in Akihabara. The cafe, Hibari-tei, doesn’t have a fixed, permanent location though – it is a ‘floating’ cafe that hosts special events at other cafes. No word yet on whether they wish to get a physical location of their own or not.

I originally read about this on a website that was deriding the entire thing – talking about how creepy maid cafes are and then more general broad statements about sexism in societies other than American society. While I will admit that I’m not really that big a fan of the maid cafe in general, I would point out that the maid cafe isn’t really terribly different from places like Hooters. Their only real difference is that they cater to different male audiences. So acting all offended frankly reeks of cultural imperialism – look at those backwards Orientals!

Anyway, while I’m not terribly interested in maid cafes, the trap portion of the thing does kind of pique my curiosity. I love traps. I don’t know why, and I’m not sure I particularly wish to tease the issue apart to determine why, but I love them nevertheless. Traps are definitely aimed at male audiences (and I speak here exclusively of traps, not the reverse variety) (ZOMG YUGIOH), and it seems that male fans are more interested in them, but is it the case that there are more guys who like traps than girls who do?

In unrelated news, my comment spam filter seems to be in hyper-mode… so if your innocuous comment doesn’t appear, I apologize; someone recently tried to spam every single post I have and I guess its made my spam filter wicked confused. Even a bunch of my own comments have gotten chewed up by the filter. I’m trying to straighten it out, but I can’t promise any progress on it soon, since it is Christmas to-morrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trap Maid Cafe

  1. glothelegend says:

    This is a place I would not go.

  2. Shinmaru says:

    If they’re really holding to the trap thing, I hope they just advertise that they’re maids, with no other information, when they hold special events at cafes. A trap isn’t a trap without the trap after all.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I’m not sure its actually being called a ‘trap’ cafe; the article that I read called it the first cross-dressing cafe, so it might not, in fact, be a totally true trap cafe.

  3. doriinatrix says:

    Hmm…not sure if I want. They do make pretty convincing girls though.

Comments are closed.