Darker than BLACK: Ryuusei no Gemini Season Review

Ryuusei no WTF.

My overwhelming impression after having finished this up was, unfortunately – what the fuck? What on earth was the point of this?

The fact is, one has to consider Ryuusei no Gemini in light of the fact that it was a sequel to a show that, ultimately, let a lot of stuff hanging in the end. So, theoretically, a sequel should address some of those remaining questions. But RnG skipped merrily off on its own direction, ignoring most of any lingering questions the audience had from the first iteration. While this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, that it itself left a lot up in the air begs – why did this all get done in the first place?

Of course, it doesn’t help that the end was one of the biggest crackfests I’ve seen in a while. America wants to become a world power again, so it takes over Tokyo? And Misaki goes off into the sunset in a flying car? And Genma is actually just Shin? The whole ‘Shion made a copy of Earth!’ thing was also seriously suspect and bizarre, and I really don’t get why Madame Oreille had anything to do with it. Or, really, what the fuck the CIA was doing rattling around the entire time… I feel as if they needed a final villain, and the CIA fit the bill easily, so they just opted for it.

The pacing for the show seemed fine, in fact, the whole thing seemed fine overall… it just went and drank a bottle of rubbing alcohol at the end because there was no more time left to develop anything. Maybe if poor Suou and July had just died at the end instead of getting flown to the moon copy Earth I’d feel a bit less irritated with the way the ending was handled, but even then I sort of wonder.

A lot was left unanswered. Is Bones angling for another season? I can’t help but wonder if this would’ve played out much better on twenty-six episodes or even on thirteen. I’m just really bothered by the fact that the whole thing seemed pointless. The epilogue, with America controlling Tokyo and Misaki in the flying car made me think of the weird Red Garden OVA… another thing that really had no purpose.

So, overall, I don’t know how I feel about the whole thing. I found the first eleven episodes to be entertaining, and felt that they were good and were building an intriguing story. But I think I can only really recommend this to diehard DtB fans. I don’t regret watching it all, I’m just left feeling annoyed and unable to really endorse it. Oh well, at least Hazuki was hot.

EDIT: Just for the record, I’d like to state that my issue with the end wasn’t that it was unclear, but that it felt completely slapped together and made me feel like the entire effort didn’t have much a reason for existence. The first season didn’t leave me hankering for a second, because, yeah, several things weren’t resolved, but it didn’t feel rushed and it seemed conclusive in a way this didn’t. I’m also bothered by the fact that something like a copy world full of copies ends up being portrayed as a good ending.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Darker than BLACK: Ryuusei no Gemini Season Review

  1. sniffits says:

    I really hate it when shows build up, leave off loose ends, come back for a new season and then answer nothing. It deserves a swift shank to the kidneys. Haven’t watched much of the original DTB as I’ve been busy, but I’ve had this happen with a few other shows. It’s just so disappointing when you’ve had yourself invested in a world and characters that ultimately go nowhere and leave you with no closure.

  2. d says:

    your image is giving out a 404 error when i click on it.

  3. Canne says:

    I feel the same as you; too many loose ends, so many questions unanswered and lots of seemingly pointless things. But I still like it overall because excluding the ending, the show is no doubt extremely compelling. I’ve just posted my review on it…maybe you want to take a look? ^^

  4. Shin says:

    He’s not pedo enough, but yes, we’re somewhat alike.

  5. Asayashi says:

    uhh hi. I’m not sure if this is the right place to ask this question (I’ll get to that later)
    You see, yea I do agree with you about the CIA and stuffs. I mean I didn’t really give a thought about it while I was watching the series, but now it does make sense. Anyway, it has been … 3 years since BONES produced Ryuusei no Gemini and well it kind of does leave you some clues that perhaps a new season ought to be developed later. Hmm come to think of it, I think the story is a bit…hanged. (o_0) or am I the only one who thinks it that way? So back to my question; what the heck happened at the end of the story? (=.=)” I mean really, I’m so confused with Misaki suddenly hovering over and saw Hei doing something to Yin (probably stabbing her heart?) and the bla bla bla scenes changed to Hei carrying Yin <—- I find it rather questionable. I need your opinion though as my first impression was that Yin is dead and Hei was carrying her corpse (u_u) yet again I don't like it if it's that way….do reply…please?

Comments are closed.