Seitokai no Ichizon Season Review

Proof that you can take a dull sourcework and make it something better.

Seitokai no Ichizon easily takes the dark horse award for the autumn season, if not possibly the entire year. It was the only show this year wherein I found myself honestly completely surprised by the first episode; there were many shows I found impressive this year, but this was the only one whcih I was impressed by because I didn’t think it was going to be any good at all.

Seitokai no Ichizon is by no means something for the record books, and it’ll probably end up in the category of shows like Hakushaku to Yousei or Ginban Kaleidoscope for me in a year or so, but I did quite honestly enjoy it. It was a good bit of fluff, perfect to watch after studying for hours or just when I was too sleepy to do anything else. Was the animation good? No, not really. Was it original? Not quite. But I giggled quite a bit and guffawed a few times, which made it worth the twenty minutes it consumed whenever I watched it.

One thing I do think the show did a very good job with was in how Sugisaki’s relationships with the girls meant, ultimately. We saw him mainly prancing around acting like an idiot, but then we got a few minutes in a few episodes showing him talking more seriously with each girl. This didn’t really make sense until the very end, where we saw that, for once, instead of the guy going around helping the sad girls in the snow, Sugisaki was helped by the girls. It was such a nice change of pace from the usual.

I would probably recommend this to people looking for a light-weight comedy to pass the time. And to anyone else who, like me, gets way, waaaay too excited over references to Tenchi Muyo.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seitokai no Ichizon Season Review

  1. Sorrow-kun says:

    It was an up and down anime and there were a couple of episodes, particularly during the first half, that really annoyed me (the swimsuit episode, the Tokyo episode, basically the episodes where Sugisaki was treated like scum). But, I ended up liking it. The second half was a lot funnier (or maybe I tuned it to its sense of humour), but the thing I ended up liking the most was, surprisingly enough, the story. By the end of it, we know clearly why all the characters think of the student council as special.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      It was strangely surprising how there actually was a storyline after all. Which is part of why I liked how they ultimately tied it all together, via Sugisaki’s efforts to become a better person. I do take issue with the notion of being a good person as making everyone else happy, but I can appreciate the sentiment, I suppose.

  2. Shance says:

    Hey, you could try and pull a few things off while you at it with Seizon. I explained a few things you can do with it, so why not try it? Should be able you to prolong the enjoyment of the show, too.

  3. Baka-Raptor says:

    Show was ok. Humor was weak, drama balanced it out.

Comments are closed.