Hanamaru Kindergarten at a Glance

A little less Kodomo no Jikan, a little more… Potemayo.

Actually, looking back, Potemayo was one of the stranger shows we’ve gotten over the past half-dozen years or so given its propensity for urine jokes, a sadistic girl with the voice of Minnie Mouse, and the presence of… a Brokeback Mountain joke. I don’t really like 4-koma adaptations, but Potemayo was hysterical.

Anyway, Hanamaru Kindergarten seems to take a bit of a Kodomo no Jikan story – in this case, the little girl who loves her teacher is somewhere in the three to five years old range – and… promptly banishes the gross pedophilic innuendo from the proceedings. The children act like children! HALLE-FUCKING-LUJAH!

Seriously, though, Hanamaru Kindergarten is in part so pleasant to watch because little kids aren’t sucking on their teacher’s fingers or causing him to have hard-ons. The kids are, in fact, adorable. I’m pretty sure that they actually are a cross between Potemayo and regular children. I’m just really hoping that they stay that way.

However, what I’m actually finding the most intriguing about the entire thing is how it demonstrates everyday Japanese life and culture for the viewer. Its in the little things, like the discussion of how few male kindergarten teachers there are, that we are given a glimpse of the more run-of-the-mill realities of Japanese society. For the Japanese viewer, this only serves to establish the plausibility of the show, but for foreign viewers its a little peek into vicissitudes of their society that we normally would never be privy to.

I enjoyed the first episode of Hanamaru Kindergarten, although it didn’t really light my world on fire. The second I smell any creepiness, though, I’m bailing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hanamaru Kindergarten at a Glance

  1. 2DT says:

    “but for foreign viewers its a little peek into vicissitudes of their society that we normally would never be privy to.”

    My, you ARE a grad student. 🙂

    I agree, though. I’m actually planning to write about Hanamaru Kindergarten, tomorrow or thereabouts. It’s a fun show.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Well, not quite a grad student, but certainly someone who is aspiring to such in the near future.

  2. Keep me posted on the creepiness quotient. I want something to watch with the wife while she breastfeeds our baby.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I shall! I think the second episode streams to-morrow.

      • I finally watched the two episodes. I still find the show very sexualized… lots of 4th wall pedo too. I think it says something that we apologize (yes we, because I think I like this show) because KnJ broke us already.

        Saying it’s not as sexual as KnJ is saying Code Geass isn’t as mecha as Gundam 00 (or Gundam in general). Maybe Code Geass isn’t the best example, but I hope you see the point I’m trying to make.

        Despite all the sexual (if romantic relationships, however made light of, can be considered sexual) content, I didn’t get creeped out as much as I’d fear (workplace sexual tension, student-teacher sexual resolution, and yes the pedo-factor in both may-may and may-december formats).

        I’m not going to absolve the show, or myself. But yes, I found the show lots of fun.

      • adaywithoutme says:

        I suppose maybe I didn’t see those as sexually suggestive as you did because I have been the object of affection for a young child before. I used to be an assistant coach for a kids’ sports team, and a six year old boy essentially decided that he was going to marry me. In fact, he tried to start a fight with my brother because he thought my brother was my boyfriend… It was an awkward situation, but it never struck me as sexual in nature at all. However, on the other hand, the boy’s mother or father wasn’t cheering him on like in this show!

        Its kind of gotten hard to tell overall these days, though, whether a show with young children is meant to be pedo or not. *sighs* You just find yourself constantly going, “Wait, was that harmless? Or did that pander to the pedophiles? Should I be bothered if I think it could have been? Does that make me a pedophile?!”

      • At age four, I didn’t have crushes yet but my fellow kindergarteners did.

        I just am very suspicious, as you’ve mentioned quite well, if this stuff is entertaining how exactly?

        I end up questioning why am I smiling when these children are paired off as if for shipping fodder? Why am I cringing when I see the little kid’s mother JUSTIFY decade-long age gaps?

        In the end, I think if I’m not fapping to this, I’m not a pedo. If pedos fap to something as quite ambiguous as this, then that’s their business.

        I’m going to continue watching this. Thanks for the recommendation!

  3. RP says:

    I read the few chapters of the manga that have been scanlated and I’m happy to say that it stayed creepy-free all throughout. I think this’ll pretty much stay true to what we saw in the first ep – cute and kiddy.

  4. glothelegend says:

    the kids reminded me HEAVILY of something, but I couldn’t figure out what, and it was only until I read this that I realized….POTEMAYO. Thank you.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I’m almost tempted to see if the two shows have any of the art and animation folks in common.

      Man, I really wanna re-watch Potemayo…

  5. Mokuren says:

    A show with CHILDREN that act like CHILDREN without heavy postmodern sexualization?

    Surely you must be jesting! I will put this “Hanamaru Kindergarten” under my attention so as to uncover your blatant lies![/monocle]

  6. Episode 3 may not have given me the creepiness vibes, but the sexual/romantic charge is there. A LOVE TRIANGLE for chrissake. So, have you bailed yet?

    I’m b0rken already… can’t wait for ep 04

Comments are closed.