Durarara!! Half-Season Review

Well…

You know what? I don’t think I like Durarara!!.

There – I said it. Now someone’s going to tell me that I just don’t get it or I’m not letting it stand on its own merits or something like that. Yeah, ok.

I’ve been watching Durarara!! on a somewhat regular basis. But then I watched episode twelve… and I literally said aloud, “What the fuck is wrong with these people?” four times during the episode. These characters are demented. Some of them are a kind of demented that works – Shizuo is extremely entertaining, for instance. But most of them are just demented – I’m sorry, but getting plastic surgery so you can resemble the disembodied head that your crush is madly in love with is fucked up. Especially when you consider that he almost killed you.

But you know what really grates on me? The entire Shinra-Celty dynamic.

Ok, Celty’s mad at Shinra because he’s known her head has been around for a long while now and has kept it a secret. So she goes to confront him. And she starts “yelling” at him. And then… they end up sprawled in a chair together.

Excuse me, what? Wow, that’s so romantic – the guy is trying to control you, it must be love! This is exactly why I didn’t like Kaname in Vampire Knight, except turned up by a factor of about ten.

I also can’t get over how congratulatory the show seems of itself; it seems like the creators are patting themselves on the backs for being so hip and edgy every five seconds. The entire atmosphere seems constructed to elicit a degree of cool. But it just comes off as irritating because of the glaring flaws the show possesses. I don’t care if Mikado gets better later – right now he’s lame as hell, and the rest of the cast completely outshines him.

Ugh, I’m done with this. All the great supporting characters in the world can’t get me to keep watching. Too bad – I wanted to see Anri wield that katana. But I’m not willing to sit through Celty being objectified and controlled just to see another female character be badass.

EDIT: I was just looking through some of my files, and it occurred to me that it is too, too bad I had to drop this as well because I have just so much Durarara!! BL on my computer’s hard-drive. Ah well. Maybe  if they would’ve just fulfilled my yuri dreams by slashing Celty with the suicidal girl from the second episode.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Durarara!! Half-Season Review

  1. Topspin says:

    I’ll just file this one under “trap-lover upset that Hideyoshi hasn’t appeared in Baccano spin-off, and expects an anime about a dullahan to feature normal people having normal love lives” ;)

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I’ll file this one under baffling responses to posts… since I didn’t like Baka to Test, and don’t really like romantic anime anyway.

      I didn’t expect “normal love lives”, if there even is such a thing… but these characters are fucking insane, and the show isn’t even good.

  2. Landon says:

    I like the fact that the characters are messed up in the head. What I don’t like is that Durarara! seems to ENCOURAGE this sort of behavior.

    It’s one thing when you have a batshit insane dude running around doing stuff. It’s another when said batshit insane person’s deviance is portrayed as something acceptable and praise-worthy. THAT’S what’s irking me about Durarara! Shinra’s a creep. I think he’s a very well-conceived character. I don’t like that his deceitful ways are portrayed in a positive way, and it creeps me out that certain fans agree with the series.

    I’m not ready to give up on the series, since there’s plenty about it that I DO like, but I’m with you on being turned off by a lot of what’s going on.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      You know, I think you hit the nail on the head – that the problem really is in the way Durarara!! implicitly lauds the poor behavior of its characters. We’re meant to be cheering for a guy who got a girl to jump off a roof, another guy who is trying to control the woman he “loves”, and still another guy who slammed a girl’s head into a wall and almost killed her. Durarara!! is kind of obsessed with its own violence, be it actually physical or of a more complicated means. We’re supposed to see it, as viewers, as “cool”.

      So it isn’t really that I dislike it because the characters are messed up… its that we’re supposed to think that’s cool and something to reach for in a sense.

      • Shinmaru says:

        What’s so weird about the Durarara experience is that the way the characters are presented is so gray, and there is such a fine line between simply portraying craziness/violence/whatever and condoning it (whether intentionally or not).

        Like with Izaya, I’m not sure the series condones his actions, and I don’t think he is a particularly likable person (I certainly don’t actively root for him, although I enjoy his character the way I enjoy a particularly devious villain) . . . but at the same time, he is presented in an undeniably “cool” way, and it’s probably a fact that many people root for him because of this, even if the show itself might not view him as someone worth following, in the end (since we don’t really have a distinct idea of what his plans are).

        It’s even more mixed with Seiji and Mika, because there is an element of dark humor introduced into it. Mika is, I think, meant to be a partially comedic character, and her stalking is funny because she is so lighthearted while doing it . . . but at the same time, I don’t find Seiji and Mika’s relationship funny at all (because Seiji is such a thoroughly despicable character). I don’t believe the audience is supposed to take the relationship as a serious romantic commitment, but Durarara is being pretty vague with it.

        The Shinra x Celty relationship just annoys the hell out of me because it’s presented like a straight-up romance even though if Shinra were a real dude, everyone who knew Celty would think he is an asshole. He goes through all the motions of being supportive, but he’s pretty damn selfish and manipulative. Their relationship could take a turn by the end of the series (and I hope it does), but for now, it’s just . . . blah.

  3. Jack says:

    Be glad that you didn’t check out episode 13 (or maybe you did). The whole Celty and Shinra thing goes from bad to worse. Like, insultingly worse.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Barf. Good thing I’m not watching any more.

      • vucubcaquix says:

        As of episode 14, that ship may have officially sunk after Shinra’s father was introduced and thoroughly stirred the pot.

        And Izaya now comes off as more menacing and scheming than cool. Scamp actually has a pretty good rundown on what may be happening.

  4. Alial says:

    Well, the premise is still interesting… although I keep thinking of the superior Baccano! (in my opinion lol)

  5. Pingback: It’s All In The Execution: Why Durarara’s So Entertaining « Grand Punk Railroad

  6. Roger says:

    You just don’t get it or you are not letting it stand on its own merits or something like that.

Leave a Reply

