STAR DRIVER Kagayaki no Takuto at a Glance

What a mess.

Originally, I had absolutely no intention of watching this at all. Quite frankly, I didn’t understand what people were getting all jazzed-up about – the entire premise sounded so uninspired as to almost render me catatonic upon reading. That BONES was going to be responsible did nothing to allay this feeling, as they demonstrated with HEROMAN that they are just as capable of being unable to lift a show past its lame premise as any other studio is. Yes, there were a few interesting names in the mix, but I still could find nothing to compel me to have any interest in this at all.

However, when I saw a blogger describe it as Revolutionary Girl Utena-ish, I was intrigued enough to check it out, even if I was skeptical still – and not only because I don’t think RGU is really possible to do effectively with a male lead.

I said it once, and I’ll say it again: what a mess! We start off with this slosh of cliches and over-used tropes, before nosediving into nonsensical crap involving robots and masks snatched straight out of Black Plague-era Europe. Oh, yeah, and maidens who apparently power robots, so original. Quite frankly, the only thing of any note at all was Takuto’s turn as the Galactic Pretty Boy, his mecha apparently hailing from the MAZE~The Megaburst of Space~ school of mecha (compare the prancing of MAZE’s mecha with the one Takuto pilots here). The only other show with a magical boy transformation that I can think of is the recently ended Anyamaru Tantei Kiruminzuu.

Alright, I’ll grant STAR DRIVER one other credit – the animation is quite fluid, particularly toward the beginning of the episode. And Takuto is ridiculous enough to at least avoid being indistinguishable from all the other would-be shounen-type heroes clogging screens everywhere. But there really is nothing else here worth paying attention to. Its an alphabet soup in another language, with everything and anything tossed at the screen in hopes of sticking, complete with a puddle-deep final quarter that makes no sense whatsoever. Maybe the second episode will rescue it from this poorly-directed morass, but as it stands now I can’t recommend bothering with it at all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to STAR DRIVER Kagayaki no Takuto at a Glance

  1. Charles says:

    I wasn’t impressed either. I liked the male lead…but otherwise, the show was a jumble of mostly overused elements thrown in one after another. I was about to drop it, but some reviews have been glowing, especially about the transformation scene (most seemed to find it hilarious in a self-aware way…I thought it seemed too corny and not self-aware enough, as if the director wasn’t sure which way he wanted to go).

    Unlike you, I was genuinely excited about those involved, so I’m going to give it a couple more episodes. But I am glad to hear someone else thought it was “a mess.”

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I am myself glad to hear your thoughts on the transformation scene, as that and a few other of the campier things in the episode came across to me as mildly confusing in terms of tone – is this done in a serious fashion? Or are we supposed to be laughing with the animators, writers, etc.? It doesn’t seem to have decided which it is.

      I’m sure I’ll watch the second episode, but if it doesn’t clear up some of that slop quickly, I’m dropping it like a hot potato. A show can have an air of mystery without being a thoughtless stew.

      • SpacyRicochet says:

        In my opinion, the entire episode screams ‘Do not take me seriously! I’m an excuse to go completely overboard on several concepts!’ Kind of like Gurren Lagann, which went over the top with testosteron.

        I think I’ll love this show, as I’m a big fan of stuff that’s obviously meant to be over the top. But I agree with you both that it is a complete mess.

  2. Mystlord says:

    Pretty much my thoughts as well. I personally found it enjoyable if only because of the eye candy of the animation. At the same time though, the plot itself felt rather weak and comedic. I also question the choice of calling the main character a “Galactic Bishounen”. That in and of itself suggests that the creators aren’t taking this show seriously.

    Other than that, they tried to cram wayyy too much into the first episode, which made it feel really messy. Might I say that the protagonist himself feels like another cliche “happy go lucky -> serious” person that I’ve been seeing lately, and that itself doesn’t really fly well with me.

  3. Kyokai says:

    We should become fast friends. My thoughts exactly and then some. I am amazed at Bones doing this, while even understanding the fact that they were going for over-the-top sparkly anime. But, still c’mon! =.=;;

Comments are closed.