BL Watch Autumn 2010: The First

Of many.

Remember when I did my How Fast to BL post? As I said there:

Of course, when I say ‘instant BL’ I mean ‘Day suddenly decided that two characters could be slashed and it’d be awesome.’ So not exactly anything concrete here, don’t get too excited. However, it made me wonder – how long does it take me to see BL in, well, anything?

So, here we are, and we’re a few weeks into the new season. I’ve been diligently logging when BL occurs to me for the first time in any show. Thus far, my BL-infested brain has actually proven to be less deranged than I had supposed it was, as I’ve got a very low total going at the moment. On the other hand, the things that I have seen it in have been very… odd.

For reference, here are the shows I am currently following (including shows carried over from the previous season):

  • Hetalia: World Series
  • Kuragehime
  • Otome Youkai Zakuro
  • Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt
  • Shiki
  • Star Driver
  • Tamayura
  • Togainu no Chi
  • Yosuga no Sora
  • Yumeiro Patissiere SP Professional

I won’t be mentioning Togainu no Chi, since it is classified as BL, or P&S w/G since the third episode is pretty explicit that the creators intend us to view Garterbelt’s actions toward Brief as being gay. So reading both things as BL-ish or yaoi-ish wouldn’t really say anything about how totally depraved I am how my mind works. And Hetalia has been homoerotic basically since the word ‘go’, so it likewise won’t earn a mention.

So, without further ado:

Shiki

To re-state from the first post, the first moment I noticed anything was during one of Muroi and Ozaki’s conversations, this particular one in episode seven. While I wasn’t really terribly sold on the Natsuno/Tohru thing at that time, I think their relationship’s BL potential has since vastly overwhelmed anything to do with Muroi and Ozaki. Episodes eleven and twelve in particular have pretty much sent the BL quotient for Natsuno/Tohru over the moon, especially the scene with Natsuno suggesting that the two run away from Sotoba and Tatsumi together. Actually, that scene was pretty heartbreaking. We’ll have to wait to see if there’s any chance for more blatant BL in this case, though, as Natsuno dies for real in the original novels whereas he goes all vampire in the manga adaptation of those same novels. (Interestingly enough, that the light novels and manga diverge on several things has been cause for people to get all upset that the anime changed something from the manga – when the anime is actually going by the original source material itself! But there’s been enough from both that Natsuno’s fate remains uncertain for now.)

How Fast to BL?: 7 episodes

 

Star Driver

Uh… actually, I haven’t picked up on any potential BL here yet, strangely enough. I’ve seen a few people say they read some into Takuto and Sugata’s interactions, but I’m just not seeing it.

How Fast to BL?: Not there yet.

Yumeiro Patissiere SP Professional

Ahem. Yeah. Definitely the most embarrassing/disturbing one on the list.

So, here it is, the first freaking episode, and all the kiddies are gathered up in Henri-sensei’s shopping arcade thing. Henri-sensei tells them their task – to create and run a pastry place together. Everyone is all, “Whaaaa???!!!” and Johnny, the token stereotyped American, leaps up and gets all up in Henri-sensei’s grill since he’s mad because he doesn’t want to work with the others. Suddenly, that depraved portion of my brain went, “Hey! Look how close he is! And how angry he is!” Oh, yeah, ’cause nothing says “awesome” apparently quite like pairing off a sixteen year old and an ambiguously-aged (but clearly adult) asshole. Good job on that one, Day.

Meanwhile, YumePati thought it’d totally nuke my preferred BL ship by giving a larger role to a background character from the first season. Gee, thanks.

How Fast to BL?: 1 episode

So I actually really haven’t seen all that much this season which makes me start slashing characters immediately. I’m actually about the check out Fortune Arterial, though, because although it looks awful and generic, someone said something about there being some tiny BL vibes floating around. Newsflash!: I am a loser.

Anyway, updates whenever I notice anything in any of the shows that I haven’t had any inkling in yet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to BL Watch Autumn 2010: The First

  1. Kyokai says:

    That new ED scene of Shiki with Natsuno and Tohru naked and almost superimposed screams of BL but of course, there were other females in the pond or whatever =.=; Also, pixiv is filled with Seishin and Toshio fanart so you can easily see what the fans are thinking. ^^

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Oh, lord, pixiv – the bane of my existence. I’ve been trying to register with them so that I can look at everything for what seems like months, but for some reason my computer/browser just doesn’t agree with it. At least I can see the thumbnails… but it seems like a lot of folks like OzakixTatsumi, blech.

  2. Aorii says:

    Wait— you haven’t yet for Star Driver? I thought that was obvious in episode 1 when they were dropping ideas between Takuto and Sugata; although I guess those two haven’t really spent enough time together since… Now if only I could find that screencap >.>

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Yeah, I don’t know how, maybe I was asleep or something? I just somehow managed to not catch onto it, which is very strange for someone like me.

  3. The Lone Sock says:

    I dunno, I pretty much saw Shiki’s bl potential right after the series introduced Tohru. Especially after we realize that Tohru is possibly Natsuno’s only friend…wink wink.

    Can’t comment on the other two shows since I haven’t seen them, but I might have to continue P&S w/G just for the inaneness of it and, of course, the undeniably good animation. I considered dropping it after the first episode because I didn’t think any of the jokes were particularly funny…I also wasn’t sure how much more fanservice I wanted to put up with (hello pole dancing transformation sequence.) Eh, but we’ll see.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Yeah, I wasn’t convinced, though, since Tohru was all hot for the nurse. But after Tohru died and Natsuno starting angsting over him and then with all those scenes between the two since… well, damn, it basically writes itself.

      I think P&S w/G is a very severe case of Your Mileage May Vary. I didn’t think the first episode was particularly funny, but watching it was a very different experience from watching anything else this season and in general. The second and third episodes are funnier… actually, in particular, I think the second half of the second episode was extremely funny. There hasn’t been any pole-dancing since, and I suppose there have been some occasional ‘fanservice’ moments, but they’re played for laughs, so its hard to take it as a serious attempt at titillation.

  4. Ida says:

    In what way does Shiki is based directly from the novel? It has stayed pretty faithful to the manga, to the point of where you can take a screenshot – and it would look exactly the same in the manga. The only thing they changed are certain minor touches which might slightly change the atmosphere of certain scenes, or scenes which might have been cut off for the time purpose.
    While I haven’t read the novel yet, and probably won’t be able to for at least another year, I’ve heard that it is quite different.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I’ll be honest – I oversimplified that in a big way, since its pretty complicated overall. Which is to say, the manga and the novels have so much in common to start with that the differences between the two are mainly small. There are some large differences, yes, but the two follow the same basic storyline and have more common ground than not. A lot of the differences have to do with the order of things happening in scenes – the changes in these scenes aren’t really that big of a deal, because they don’t alter the overall tone of these scenes (in most cases). I think the one that people has expressed annoyance at in particular was the Muroi-Sunako scene, where the point at which she starts to and decides against biting him is different in the manga versus the anime – the anime opted for the original ordering.

      I’m actually reading the novels in tandem with a few other people, as my own Japanese language skills aren’t so hot (we’ve got two folks who are more or less fluent and four of us who range fairly widely in terms of our abilities). We aren’t progressing past roughly the point of where the anime is. I’ve also read the manga up through the material that was covered in the eleventh episode.

  5. sheena says:

    I think pokemon is the biggest distraction ever invented! Thank goodness for that!

  6. Baka-Raptor says:

    How about You Are Umasou?

    Watch it. 10 eps are subbed. That’s two complete stories. You might get some BL in the second one…

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Actually! I just saw that a whole slew of them got subbed, so they are in my queue.

      You just want me to watch it ’cause there’s a dinosaur in it.

  7. Pingback: BL Watch Autumn 2010: The Second « GAR GAR Stegosaurus

  8. Pingback: BL Autumn 2010 Watch: The Third « GAR GAR Stegosaurus

  9. Musicalcroc says:

    Star Driver has slash potential from the get-go but I agree with you that the vibe increases from ep 6. Possibly because Sugata is the damsel in distress.
    Your “experiment” makes me kind of relieved that I am not the only one with slash goggle a bit too tight. I know I am degenerate when I catch myself slashing my friends. I have the excuse that those two guys basically do every college projects together and refer to themselves as “intellectually married”. But they are not dating, unfortunately(?).

Comments are closed.