Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt Half-Season (?) Review

PANTY STOCKING PANTY PANTY STOCKING YEAH

Alright, so I’m a bit behind schedule; episode six aired on Friday. My excuse is that I watched Macross Frontier: The False Songstress that night and then spent yesterday playing Pokemon/re-reading ALL my BL/doing the laundry. Honestly, that I got to it today just speaks to my dedication to my readers, as today is Sunday so that means FOOTBALL FOOTBALL FOOTBALL!!!

Also: technically, I’m not behind! P&S w/G is a thirteen-episode show, after all, so, really, I should just watch half of episode seven, write up a review, post it, and then watch the second half.

Blah blah blah who cares.

P&S w/G is one of the shows this season that really has no business being able to maintain the momentum it displayed in the first episode. After all, shallow toilet humor can really only remain funny for so long, right? And, yet, Gainax has managed to keep the episodes fresh, and has also demonstrated a willingness to break from their own established format in both episodes five and six. While the second half of episode five didn’t exactly work, they nevertheless deserve credit for trying to put a different spin on things, shifting from a P&S-centric story to one wherein P&S are the distant heroines whom regular people admire.

Episode six worked better in mixing things up a little, with the full-episode storyline about a pair of demon sisters causing some mayhem at the high school. It also established some longer-term villains in the form of said demon sisters, along with a shadowed overlord/boss-type. Not exactly anything new in terms of anime as a whole, but it was a change from the half-episode tales we have been getting.

I must now admit some bafflement with P&S w/G. I don’t find this to be terribly funny, honestly; I’ll literally laugh out loud during Kuragehime and also have during some of the Otome Youkai Zakuro episodes and Milky Holmes as well (and, really, how could you not with a male character who is so opposed to shirts and yet so prone to cold nipples?). I’ve giggled a bit during Star Driver. But I never actually laugh during P&S w/G, nor do I find it particularly humorous in a milder, laughter-free manner. Yet there’s something in this that keeps drawing me back to it every week, and I never find myself hemming and hawing over it. I like watching it; I just don’t exactly know why.

I can tell you, though, that I am already dying to get my hands on the OST. I love the OP, even if it is just the heroines names chanted over and over again. I also like the insert transformation songs – the new one this week for the demon sisters was awesome! And I like the ED music, in part since it seems a bit out-of-place closing out a show that concerns itself so much with poop and vomit. The contrast is amusing, for some reason.

I also enjoy the animation. The art is pretty deceptive; there have been moments where I’ve suddenly been confronted with how good the animation is and found myself surprised since the art looks so simplistic itself. And of relation to the animation, if there is one thing that keeps putting a grin on my face, its the ways in which the animators have kept us from ever seeing up Panty’s skirt during battles. That is one place where they do get the humor right.

Now, does all of what P&S w/G does work? No. Garterbelt as an Afro-Am pedophilic priest is a bit uncomfortable when considering the racial angle, and some of the attempts at humor fall flat. The humor itself in general isn’t terribly funny, either. But the pros, even if I cannot quite identify them myself, manage to outweigh the cons enough to keep bringing me back to it.

Now, as for the title of this post – right now, P&S w/G is listed officially as thirteen episodes. However, in an interview with one of the production staff, there was mention made of twenty-six episodes being made. My sincere hope is that they keep it to thirteen, though; yes, they’ve managed to keep it all working for six episodes even though I figured it’d last for three, but twenty-six sounds highly dicey. Ah well, we shall see.

By the way, do you know how hard it is to find decent images from this show? Just try doing an image search for it. You’ll see exactly what I mean.

Ok, time for more football. And BL.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt Half-Season (?) Review

  1. Hogart says:

    Pan~ty! Stocking! Pannnny panny stockinyo! Oh Panny stocking.. OH~! Pannystocking!

    Actually I’m not sure whether I like the ED more. The entire OST has a nicely atypical vibe to it that makes it appealing compared to all the other anime trying to sound so desperately like anime.

    But yeah.. I don’t laugh much either. I think I’m just in awe of how much fun Gainax are clearly having with this one. But I definitely like the oh-so-disgusting character designs of the “villains”.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I also love how the villains suddenly morph into styrofoam and polyester models and explode when defeated. Totally awesome!

  2. Shance says:

    I think episode 6 revolutionized how cartoon battles should be done. Awesome fight scenes, spontaneous badass, and the blaring of epic background music for the duration of like, thirteen minutes or so.

    And that’s what lets me keep on watching the show.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I loved the fight scenes in episode six, too. It was one of those moments where you really notice the quality of the animation – yes, the explosion’s fire and smoke may look like the really simply stuff of old, but the movement is so fluid!

      I also just loved getting another transformation insert song. I do wish that the Angels would stay in those Pretty Cure-esque outfits, though, instead of switching right back to their normal clothes after getting their weapons via transformation.

  3. Pan~ty! Stocking! Pannnny panny stockinyo! Oh Panny stocking.. OH~! Pannystocking!

    I love this shit.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I feel like saying ‘I love this shit.’ may be the best way of putting it, honestly. I really have a hard way of putting it in a more constructive sense.

      I think I’m going to name my next pets Panty and Stocking.

  4. Scamp says:

    Fly away now, fly away now, FLY AWWAAAAAAAAAAAAY~!

  5. glothelegend says:

    I think you like this show for the same reason I do: It’s artistic design. Everything is just awesome. Of course, I actually think it’s funny, but the artistic qualities are really what attracts me to this show. It’s different, it’s fast, it’s simplistic yet complex in design. There’s always a lot going on in the scenes, whether that be pummeling Chuck for no reason, or whatever.

  6. kluxorious says:

    I have no idea how I feel about this show to be exact, even after 5 episodes. This one is an enigma!

  7. kadian1364 says:

    PSG seems to appeal to most for its stylistic flourishes rather than its content (nasal sex and etc.). We don’t laugh at the actual joke, but we appreciate how it was told. Animation that’s constantly doing something interesting is like sweet, addictive nectar for anime hipsters like us.

  8. Pingback: Anime Overdose | Moe Sucks

Comments are closed.