BL Autumn 2010 Watch: The Third

Now with bonus yuri.

Its that time again, folks – Day smelled BL potential in a show! If you’re unfamiliar with this, please see my previous posts on the matter.

To refresh, here are the shows that I am watching:

  • Hetalia: World Series(ish)
  • Otome Youkai Zakuro
  • Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt
  • Shiki
  • Star Driver
  • Tamayura
  • Togainu no Chi
  • Yumeiro Patissiere SP Professional
  • Tantei Opera Milky Holmes

And here are the ones I’ve already seen BL in:

  • Star Driver
  • Shiki
  • Kuragehime
  • Yumeiro Patissiere SP Professional

Again, Hetalia, Togainu no Chi, and Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt all intentionally have BL or situations that we, the audience, are meant to read BL into, so I will not be mentioning them. Kuragehime appears on the second list but not the first because I have just dropped it. The make-overs were annoying enough, but the regressiveness of Kuragehime’s depiction of a career woman is far, far more than I can manage to stomach. I’m reminded once again of why I don’t tend to like josei.

Anyway, this week we’ve got a title included for the fact that I saw yuri in it. I like yuri, but I’m not as much of a loser fan for it as I am for BL, and yuri-ish angles in non-yuri shows are more common than BL-ish angles in non-BL shows, so I don’t foresee doing a yuri watch all by itself.

So, without further ado:

Otome Youkai Zakuro

That it took so long for me to see any BL in this at all is pretty surprising considering that, based on the creator, I just assumed this was BL with traps when I saw the initial promo art. Yes, even when I found out the title (Hoshino does have a manga, after all, entitled Hanayome-kun). And, yes, even after it first aired, I was still sure that one of the young ladies would turn out to actually be a dude.

Yeah, at this point, I’m thinking not so much.

Anyway, in episode eight… actually, I forget precisely what happened that made me go, “Hmm…” but I’m pretty sure it was something fairly insignificant, such as a ‘meaningful’ look or a short verbal exchange. It was truly fairly innocuous on its own. But I did think at some point during the episode that I could totally slash Agemaki and Riken.

How Fast to BL? 8 episodes

Yumeiro Patissiere SP Professional

Oh, YumePati – somehow you never fail to disappoint in terms of inspiring slashing in the most unexpected show possible. I don’t know how you do it.

Last Saturday’s episode was focused on Mari moping around about how poorly her shop is doing, and then getting over it. How’d she get over it? Well, she finally got a young woman who had kept looking in the window of the shop to come inside, even though the shop was closed. This other character was named Linda, and she talks a lot about liking how the shop looked but being worried she’d be out of place. Then Mari makes her food. And, the next day when the shop starts getting too crowded, Linda stops by to give an impromptu recital on the sidewalk.

Mari also was moping in part because she just wants to be with Henri-sensei (who seems less and less appealing with each appearance!), and Henri-sensei has basically shut her down and told her that you can’t have romance and be a patissiere. Obviously someone needs to get over a jerk! Meanwhile, Linda clearly thinks very highly of Mari, so…

Too easy! So easy, in fact, I smell a fanfic coming! And the fact that the next-episode preview seems to indicate that Mari may be headed back to Japan? Well, fuck that.

How Fast to BL? 9 episodes

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BL Autumn 2010 Watch: The Third

  1. Yi says:

    I haven’t watched Otome Youkai Zakuro, but like you, I kind of just assumed there would be BL sprinkled here and there based on the images and the genre. Seems like actual BL is pretty weak in this series. I guess you never know until you watch.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Yeah, there isn’t any BL at all, honestly. A pairing occurred to me briefly, but its completely me reading into it. The moment I saw Hoshino was the creator, I got mildly excited because I figured there HAD to be BL in it. Ah well.

Comments are closed.