A Rainy Day for Earthworms

Short post here.

So, one of my classmates from high school has been working on an indie film for a while, the title of which is A Rainy Day for Earthworms. Its set in Boston’s Chinatown during the 1990’s and “follows the perspective of a 1st generation Chinese-American child after a tragedy shakes the community.” I don’t see much of this classmate these days, but I do know he’s been pouring his heart and soul into it, and that he’s dreamt of being a film-maker for ages. This is his first feature length piece.

Anyway, yeah, it has nothing to do with anime. However, right now he’s trying to raise funds so that he can finish off the production. It’s about 60% done at this point, but he’s $5k short of the necessary funding. This is where you folks come in.

If you can spare a little bit of money, you should donate here. Even just a dollar is cool! You’ll be helping someone make their dreams come true… AND DREAMS ARE FUCKING AWESOME.

Anyway, if you do have more questions, just click on that link, too. There are a lot more details there about the film and the process of working on it, along with a trailer.

Normally, I wouldn’t shill for money, but this guy and I were in JROTC in high school and he was a great guy. He’s devoting himself to pursuing his dreams, and I can’t help but admire that – it takes a shit-ton of guts to do that, especially given America’s current economic climate. And enough of you have liked my blog enough to have delivered over 220,000 hits in 2010 alone, so I knew I’ve got eyeballs here. And, even if you can’t donate, consider pimping this on your own blog, ok?

DREAMS ARE DELICIOUS. MAKE THEM HAPPEN. LOVE AND KISSES FROM THE UNDERGROUND, BITCHES.

P.S. – I have nothing to do with the making of this film, and my pimping of the fundraising effort is wholly of my own volition. I’m such a wonderfully selfless bitch! You may now worship me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Rainy Day for Earthworms

  1. Shinmaru says:

    I’ll definitely toss up a donation when I get home.

  2. Elineas says:

    This sounds like a very good friend of mine who during college applications was ranting about how, unlike the other 99% of students in our grade who were going to be lawyers/doctors/engineers, living the dream of a film director had no backup plan. You either did well or you just wasted years working with film. It’s one of those occasional cynical things he says in half-jest which he knows is quite real. He’s currently in one of the best film schools in the US though, so I’d say he’s on the right track. However, bringing his anime preferences along has had a strange influence on his scripts.

    It also means I’m a lot more sympathetic to this plight, so I’ll see what I can donate even though I’m one of many poor college students. 🙂

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Thank you so much! =) I’m really on fire about taking how he’s taking a chance like this for what he loves, so I’m thrilled with even the tiniest bit from my readers.

  3. I have no money (I am a poor person) but I will make sure to link to this on my blog 🙂

Comments are closed.