Spring 2011 Preview

I should just do the year in words, not numerals. Make all consistent, yes?

EDIT: If you’re wondering where all the pictures have gone on my posts, it’s because the computer I’ve been using isn’t really down with the picture uploader for WordPress. Too bad.

So, I’m late on this. Wicked late. In fact, so late that some of these shows have already aired. Good job, Day.

Let’s keep it simple: a list of the shows I’m going to be checking out, and some commentary about the ones in particular that I’m looking forward to. I’ll also hit up a few of the particularly atrocious-looking shows that are set to air this season, like Lotte no Omocha.

  • Nichijou
  • Tiger and Bunny
  • Hanasaku Iroha
  • Oretachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai
  • Showa Monogatari
  • Steins;Gate
  • Kaiji Season Two
  • Health and Physical Education for 30 year olds
  • Sket Dance
  • Hyouge Mono
  • Yondemasu yo, Azazel-san
  • Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi
  • C: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control
  • Ano Hana
  • Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko
  • Moshidora

Phew. That’s a LOT. I also ened to check out the already-aired Spelunker Sensei, which looks fairly off the wall… although, then again, it may end up just feeling like a Sayonara Zetsubou-sensei rip-off.

I still have to finish Kaiji’s first season before I can even touch the second, so I probably won’t be checking that out for a while. Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi will probably be absolutely awful but, sadly, the BL fan in me means I have to at least check it out. I really, really disliked Junjou Romantica, and this is from the same creator, so I will probably hate it. I’m not a huge fan of the it’s-not-rape-it’s-love approach to BL, and Junjou Romantica was packed full of that. Blech.

Sket Dance honestly looks like it’s probably just another weak shounen story. However, I’m willing to give it a go, the inclusion of a yankee girl is what is drawing me in there. Steins;Gate is also something I’m not expecting too much of – the whole thing of sending text messages to the past from a microwave sounds pretty stupid… there’s a slight chance that’ll it’ll be AWESOME, but I’m not anticipating that.

OreNai is going to suck. But I love the school uniforms! So I’ll at least give it a go. Newsflash: I am shallow.

The lack of clothing on the female lead in the promo art for C has me pretty fucking leery. And I think folks are starting to realize that noitaminA may have a much higher success rate than other blocks, but it is still run by humans, so, yeah, the whole being on noitaminA thing isn’t making me think it’ll necessarily exceed what it looks like on the packaging. Here’s hoping that the fanservice quotient isn’t so bad

On the other noitaminA hand, Ano Hana looks good, unless its actually a harem set-up. I could very well be, given the description, but I’m having faith in it for now; enough faith, even, that I’m looking forward to seeing it.

As for the earlier mentioned Lotte no Omocha… I’m taking this as evidence that, at the very least, the new bill in Tokyo isn’t having much of an effect on the anime industry. I’m curious to see what Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi looks like in part because it is BL and we do know that Studio Deen is willing to push the envelope based on their adaptation of Junjou Romantica. Of course, the really interesting comparison would be if we could see a BL show from a smaller studio, like Lotte no Omocha’s Diomedea, to compare said show with. Studio Deen is a pretty decent sized one, after all, so they can afford to test the limits. Of course, maybe we even should compare the crudity level of Lotte no Omocha with the crudity level of a similar show done by a larger studio.

Or, maybe Seikon no Qwaser II is a good test case. It’s first season came out prior to the new legislation, so it may be worth it to compare the levels of fanservice from season one to season two. Hoods Entertainment is tiny. So it wouldn’t take the same risks an AIC or a JC Staff would take – could take, really. Because that’s what it is – could, can, cannot. Maybe they would if they could, but they can’t, so they won’t.

Moving along, the main female character in Sofuteni looks just like the titular Potemayo. No, really – compare their faces. You won’t be able to unsee it.

Alright, that’s all I’ve got. Now where the fuck can I get myself a Koisento sub?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spring 2011 Preview

  1. glothelegend says:

    I actually want to watch just about everything.

  2. foshizzel says:

    Yeah I probably will end up watching every first episode of the spring line up so.

    So far I have seen Steins;Gate,Hanasaku Iroha,Nichijou from your list, waiting for the others xD probably reviewing Nichijou and denpa! Maybe Lotte’s for my ecchi review.

    Good stuff so far! Only shows I have hated so far Dog days,Tiger and bunny. I am sure the list of hates will grow slowly >.>

  3. Pingback: Bad anime featuring Facebook | Moe Sucks

Comments are closed.