Nichijou at a Glance

Looks like someone escaped from What a Wonderful World!.

Also, Rio, you and your space sharks ain’t got nothing on SKY SHARKS:

I smell a crossover. That, or Mega Shark vs. Space Shark.

Ah, Nichijou. Oh, excuse me – “Ordinary Life”. We’ll forget the fact that the term itself is translated in three different ways by Crunchyroll during the first two episodes. I don’t really expect much different from a group that includes people who were doubtlessly howling protests when older dubbed shows displayed similar non-adherence to uniform translation of terms. But, I digress, and perhaps a bit too harshly so. I’m not a massive fan of their translations, but I do feel credit is due to them for their willingness to transfer their efforts to legitimacy.

I don’t feel like there’s a whole lot to say about Nichijou. It’s a 4-koma adaptation, but with a lot of bizarreness thrown in. Does that make it any good? Well…

I’ll give Nichijou this – the amusement factor increases over the passage of time, at least through the first two episodes. And when it does hit the mark, Nichijou does succeed in actually making me physically laugh. The bit with Mio freaking out over the BL she drew and forgot to erase on her homework was hilarious, and so were the much shorter jump-rope sequences. However, a lot of the proceedings were fairly dull, particularly in the first episode, which I personally found to be largely a chore to get through.

So do the genuinely funny bits make it worth it? Yes… if one is capable of utilizing the fast-forward function to get through the more plodding elements.

On the plus side of the ledger, the animation is great, and the shift in style during the aforementioned BL drawing portion was a chance for the animators to show off a little bit. This is another one of those shows where it can be very easy to overlook the fact that a lot of effort was put into the visuals, but when you do notice it, it is truly striking.

With the voice acting, I found myself a bit amused over the fact that it seems like everyone either migrated over from Munto TV or Seitokai no Ichizon. Why was this amusing? I have no idea. It just was. Munto TV was so freaking boring. Seitokai no Ichizon was a hell of a lot better than I was expecting at all. Not really tangential, but, eh, its my blog, I can wander off like that.

So… yeah. Feeling kind of lukewarm overall. I smell something I end up watching out of a lack of any other thing to do, sort of how Hetalia is to me (although Hetalia has the miniscule runtime on it’s side).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nichijou at a Glance

  1. Scamp says:

    Nitpicking, but

    “It’s a 4-koma adaptation”

    Nope, just a regular old gag manga

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Actually, it varies – sometimes it goes for a chapter-style, and others for the 4-koma style. But, I suppose strictly speaking it isn’t 4-koma, but a manga which happens to use 4-koma from time to time.

      Also, if you weren’t nitpicking, we might not recognize you.

  2. foshizzel says:

    I love this series right now! So far it’s my favorite, guess I enjoy shows like this can’t wait to see more! I think Nano and Hakase are the most fun to watch.

    But most probably will pass on this if they don’t enjoy shows with no plot and random laughs here and there. As for me I am addicted to it 😀

  3. inushinde says:

    I like it so far, but the gags are just a little too needlessly dramatic for my sake. Still, it’s gotten quite a few chuckles out of me so far.
    It’s led to an inconsistent, but all around amusing show, definitely a step up from the OAV.

Comments are closed.