Summer 2011 Season Preview

-ish.

I say “ish” because I can no longer be bothered writing out a full preview – it takes a very long time, and, quite frankly, bitching out shitty T&A shows gets a bit boring after a while. Really, how many times can one make fun of a panty shot show featuring ten year olds before it just gets old? So, as I have done for the last couple of season previews, I will be sticking strictly to those shows I will be checking out and which I am hoping will be at least good enough to hold my attention for a half-season or a season, depending on length of the show’s run.

Just for context, at the moment I am only sort-of following one show, Ano Hana, and even that I got sidetracked on for a while. I check out Tiger & Bunny sporadically, but with no sort of faith at all, so I don’t really count it. Its just been a pretty thin year for me overall when it comes to anime; I haven’t managed to finish a single show or even keep following one weekly. In the case of Hourou Musuko, though, this is entirely my fault, as that was an excellent show. I just am a bad anime fan, apparently.

So, shows I will check out:

  • Mawaru PenguinDrum
  • No. 6
  • Blood-C
  • Nyanpire
  • Usagi Drop
  • Kami-sama no Memo-chou
  • Nekogami Yaoyozoru
  • Kami-sama Dolls
  • Natsume Yuujin-chou San

First of all, I need to finish Zoku Natsume Yuujin-chou before I can touch the third season. I love the franchise, but the laidback-feeling of the show does make one a bit lazy about watching it. I’ll watch a few episodes in a row and then not touch it for months. Its a pleasant show, and it encourages me to be derelict of it as a result. But I do want to see the third season, and I do like it, so I need to finish Zoku sometime soon.

Kami-sama Dolls looks potentially creepy, what with the whole murder thing, although I’m holding out more for Blood-C to meet my horror quota. That CLAMP is working on it has my hopes up a bit. I like CLAMP best when they’re delving into horror (although I do love CardCaptor Sakura and Kobato. too!), and, in general, they are very good at what they do.

Speaking of horror, Nyanpire is basically the best thing ever, I’m sure. Vampires and cats! How could you not love that?!?! As someone who wasn’t really a fan of Last Exile (shitty female characters, no thanks), I’m personally pleased that this is what Gonzo is making its comeback with.

No. 6 I will check out only because Scamp mentioned that there is BL fodder to be had. YES I am that shallow!

Nekogamu Yaoyozoru has cat gods doing funny things, allegedly. I could do with some humor in my line-up, so, why not?

I’ve heard very good things about the Usagi Drop manga, in that it actually takes the high road, so, no, no atmosphere of pedophilia nor fanservice shots of a kindergartener. It will also air on noitaminA, which certainly isn’t a guarantor of quality (Fractale, Toshokan Sensou, Jyu Oh Sei), but does indicate a much better chance of quality than any other block does. I keep meaning to snag the manga. One of these days!

But, really, the one I’m waiting for is Mawaru PenguinDrum. Why? Kunihiko Ikuhara, he of Revolutionary Girl Utena fame. I’m not expecting a new RGU (*points and laughs at early boosters of Star Driver*), but I do expect something kind of out there and worthy of a watch. All I know so far is that it features a sister and her two brothers. Oh, and Lily Hoshino is doing the character designs, which is a bit disheartening as I am not a fan of her art. But it’s Ikuhara, so I can roll with that. Maybe I’ll even blog it! And maybe I’ll even finish blogging it! (I know this is a point of disappointment for some of my readers ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

So…! Well, that’s it until the season actually starts, I suppose, and that’s a bit of a ways off. I’m interested to see what licenses get picked up for streaming; hoping Crunchyroll can manage to convince me to take my account with them off of hold. They just didn’t have anything this season that I wanted to watch weekly, which was a bit of a letdown; they always at least have one thing going for them per season. Ah well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Summer 2011 Season Preview

  1. glothelegend says:

    Might I suggest you watch the Katteni Kaizou OVA?

    • A Day Without Me says:

      People keep talking about this lately… maybe I’ll have to check it out…

  2. Nyan Nyan says:

    Sorry to hear you aren’t doing a full season preview this time around. Keep up the good work.

    • A Day Without Me says:

      Thanks; probably not gonna do a full preview for a while, if ever again. I just don’t have the time to wade through it all any more and still do posts on things I care about.

  3. Elineas says:

    In the case of Hourou Musuko, though, this is entirely my fault, as that was an excellent show. I just am a bad anime fan, apparently.

    But itโ€™s Ikuhara, so I can roll with that. Maybe Iโ€™ll even blog it! And maybe Iโ€™ll even finish blogging it! (I know this is a point of disappointment for some of my readers ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

    *Insert 50 lines of RAEG RAEG RAEG* ๐Ÿ˜›

    If not even Ikuhara can get you to finish blogging a show, then we need to find whatever drug was laced into Shiki’s production.

    • A Day Without Me says:

      Yeah, I dunno, Shiki was just a special show for me. My schedule also hadn’t gotten quite so hectic yet as it has become, though, which probably helped. I also only started blogging about half-way through because it lit me on fire that badly; I hadn’t blogged a single show since Nabari no Ou to that point.

  4. abscissa says:

    Usagi Drop manga sounds interesting. I find it hard to find a really descent one.
    Thanks for the info.

    • A Day Without Me says:

      Yeah, I believe Yen is releasing it in the U.S. Hopefully they’ve got their decent team working on it; their early Spiral releases were pretty good, but the quality seriously tailed off toward the end of that series.

  5. odorunara says:

    I love Nyanpire T_T I am so going to watch that.

    • A Day Without Me says:

      Seriously, its cats and vampires – what on earth else could anyone need?

Comments are closed.