Horizon on the Middle of Nowhere at a Glance

It’s official: someone needs to take Sunrise behind the shed and shoot it.

Here’s the early pick for worst show of the season, the perfectly putrid Horizon on the Middle of Nowhere, which brings the double-whammy of boobs and silly-looking censorship to your screens this autumn, courtesy of Sunrise. If it looks like the lovechild of Dragonaut-era Gonzo and the KyoAni school of facial drawing, that’s because it probably is.

The first episode has a similar approach as MajiKoi did, a frenetic episode-long chase mixed with battle-elements that was surely meant to draw the viewer in. Instead, it underwhelms, and the world-building conducted is awkward and comes off as the characters reading teleprompters for the benefit of the audience. While the info-dumping of Fate/Zero may’ve been inelegant, it never got to the point where I ceased listening; sure, they weren’t taking advantage of the benefits of the medium, but at least there was a sense that I should pay attention. Here all one hears after thirty seconds of speech is “blah blah blah”, eyes following the metronome-like mammaries of the ladies as they jiggle their way across the screen.

I don’t recall the names of any of the characters, even though I just finished watching the damn thing ten minutes ago. Not. A. Single. One. I liked the teacher a bit up until the very end of the episode, where, after kicking ass the entire time, she is completely incapable of action after the male lead gropes her boobs… or, well, its implied he does, her boob area suddenly turns into a white oval during this scene, all the better to sell DVD’s with, so for all we know, he just makes shadow puppets in front of it.

Speaking of the male lead, despite having little screentime, he is the worst element of the show, sporting the smarmiest facial expression I have ever seen on a character’s face. No, really. I have never had such a strong urge to grind a character’s face into the ground as I did when he makes his first appearance. I had hoped that he only looked like that in the promo art, but, no, here he is, trying to do his best Gin Ichimaru face. He apparently never got the memo that it doesn’t work when you look like the biggest shit-eater ever animated. If he were a real person, I would’ve kicked his ass when I was in high school. Ugh, just look up at the picture again – doesn’t it just make you want to scrape his face off?

Fuck this show. There is nothing noteworthy about it at all, from bumper to bumper. Crap animation, crap character designs, crap story, crap characters, crap, crap, crap. If you’re going to bother watching utter shit, there is plenty of better utter shit out there this season than this repulsive pile of dung.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Horizon on the Middle of Nowhere at a Glance

  1. Joojoobees says:

    This show made no sense. I never expected that it was going to be good, but it doesn’t even make sense. The info dump at the end was impossible to follow. I have no idea why there are magical creatures in the future or what the hell this show is about.

    • A Day Without Me says:

      From the tiny percentage of info dump I paid attention to, it just seemed terribly vague. But I also didn’t listen to most of it because I had by then figured that it didn’t really matter; I was just waiting for the episode to end so I could count it as ‘watched’ and then forget it all completely.

  2. kluxorious says:

    Wait… what is this show? I don’t even…

  3. inushinde says:

    That guy had the smuggest goddamn smile I’ve ever seen in anime, I swear to fuck. On the bright side, at least watching this is still entirely voluntary! That’s a plus in a show’s favor, right?

  4. jpmeyer says:

    This show was fuckin’ terrible, but it still wasn’t as bad as Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi.

    • A Day Without Me says:

      Well, I didn’t check that piece of crap out, so… can’t really dispute your statement.

  5. Marcomax says:

    This show reminds me a bit of Demon king Daimao in that it gives off this weird air of desperation. As if the creators of the show were just throwing everything they had at the screen to see if it works.

  6. Caraniel says:

    Director of Dragonaut – really didn’t expect any better, but didn’t expect it to be quite so utterly shite immediately!

Comments are closed.