Spring 2012 Season Preview

And I’m still waiting on that fourth season of Jigoku Shoujo.

Would you be able to recognize me if I weren’t?

Regular readers, you surely know the drill by now: only touching on shows I’ll actually be checking out. If you want a more complete season preview, I highly suggest you venture elsewhere.

Shows I’m looking forward to:

  • Fate/Zero Second Season
  • Folktales from Japan
  • Hyouka
  • Sakamichi no Apollon

Fate/Zero Second Season… not too much to say other than SABERRRRRRR HNNNNGH. Oh man, I have such a crush on that lady. Any excuses for more SaberxIris fanart is a good thing in my book. I also did legitimately enjoy the rest of the anime as well – yes, even those talking head scenes! Here’s hoping we get some more of Gilgamesh as well; it was always fun to watch him be terribly seductive to anyone with a pulse, after all, even if his arrogance was a bit grating. Also, more of poor, crazed Kariya. Less of Kiritsugu is absolutely okay with me.

I actually have always enjoyed folktales, legends, and other lore since I was a kid, so Folktales of Japan is right up my alley. Glad to see Crunchyroll nabbed it in particular, as I seriously doubt it would’ve been regularly fansubbed by anyone. Also, Crunchyroll should be happy to know that it attracted at least one former subscriber back, i.e. myself.

Hyouka. Hmm. KyoAni doing a mystery show? Feels a bit odd after so many sad girls in the snow and a few lackluster comedies. I enjoy mystery shows quite a bit (when done correctly), and I’m always willing to give the genre a try when new shows pop up. I also like the idea of the kids being a part of a Classics Club. I probably would’ve joined one of those in high school… well, had I been the type to join clubs, I suppose.

Sakamichi no Apollon just looks cool, honestly. I don’t have much substantiation for why I’m watching it other than that. I almost want to draw a parallel between having Yoko Kanno and Shinichiro Watanabe reunited years after they worked together previously with Madoka Magica’s reunification of Shinbo with Yuki Kajiura, but that’d be unkind to Kanno – whereas Kajiura hadn’t produced a worthwhile soundtrack in years, Kanno’s efforts in the years between Cowboy Bebop and now haven’t been fruitless. But I do think that working together could spark something better than the solid work Kanno has done over the past fourteen years.

Shows I will check out, but don’t necessarily expect to enjoy:

  • Yurumates
  • Zetman
  • Polar Bear Cafe
  • Sankarea
  • Natsuiro Kiseki
  • Tasogare Otome x Amnesia
  • Lupin III: The Woman Known as Fujiko Mine
  • Jormungand
  • Tsuritama

I’m watching Yurumates because the pun-tastic title amuses me. Seriously.

Zetman’s description was pretty meh, but there’s man-holding-man action in some of the promo art, so obviously I have no choice but to give it a go.

Polar Bear Cafe. Its a cafe. Run by a polar bear. Not really sure what other reason you could possibly need for checking it out.

Sanka Rea is a show I don’t think I’ll watch past the first episode; its just that the initial events of the show sound so outlandish that it needs to be watched. Kid’s cat dies, he makes a voodoo potion for it, a girl he meets with a weird name drinks the potion, dies, comes back as a zombie, the guy falls off a cliff, and she bites him, making him a half-zombie. Its ridiculous. So I’ll watch the first episode.

Natusiro Kiseki has uniforms stolen from Revolutionary Girl Utena. Just thought I’d point that out. On the one hand, the four girls set-up has been hatcheted to death. On the other, I recently decided Sunrise is my favorite studio, so I’ve been wanting to expand my repertoire of Sunrise shows seen. There is, too, the fact that the director of UN-GO and the first season of Fullmetal Alchemist is working on it. I don’t normally take note of the staff on things, but UN-GO was excellent and I much preferred FMA to FMA: B. I’m willing to give this the benefit of the doubt.

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia’ll probably suck. However, its the only horror show of the season. And, I do like supernatural mysteries, even if 99% of them suck (I have to reach all the way back to Ghost Hunt, in 2006, to find an enjoyable supernatural mystery). Knock on wood, surprises are always nice.

Lupin III: The Woman Known as Fujiko Mine has cool-looking promo art. Yep. That’s my reason.

Jormungand is hyper-violent, has a bad-ass female arms’ dealer, and a woman who has a crush on her. Hell yes.

Tsuritama honestly strikes me as looking like the anime equivalent of hipster movies. Its not really rubbing me the right way, to be perfectly honest. The turban bugs me; as if someone said, “but how will viewers know he’s Indian? wait, I know! a turban!”. Or maybe its that he reminds me of Rolf from Ed, Edd, and Eddy, probably due to the presence of a duck with him at all times (Rolf is frequently depicted with farm animals, including fowl at various points). Oh well. I’ll at least try it out when it airs, even if it leaves me less than excited.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring 2012 Season Preview

  1. nazarielle says:

    How is Jormungand not in the first category? Sounds like your kinda thing. Although, who knows if it’ll turn out as awesome as the premise looks on paper.

    Oh my god Ed, Edd, and Eddy is the best :3

    • A Day Without Me says:

      Haven’t read the manga at all for Jormungand, so its really tough to say. Well… which is actually true of three of the ones on the first list, that is, that I have no prior experience with the material… eh. Who knows. I guess I just really am that interested in watching the UN-GO director at work again.

  2. Pingback: Anti-Social Geniuses Reference Resource Mondays « Organization Anti-Social Geniuses

Comments are closed.