Rolling Out of Year Five

my homies

I don’t know how to start, really.

My post for birthday number four was a weird, rambling tome, and while I’m certainly capable of doing that again, the inclination just isn’t there at the moment. My blog is five years old; I am happy… although I missed the actual birthday by a day (whoops – duty calls!).

I like blogging. I don’t quite blog like I used to (being a real, live adult does have an impact on that), but I’m still plodding along here, talking about things I’ve loved and things I’ve hated. I’ve actually got a post planned out for something I hated which will hopefully surface either to-morrow or Wednesday. I’ve been reviewing too many things I’ve loved to pieces of late, I think we need a little more negativity around here since I know that the optimism is proving disappointing to some 😉

Five years, huh? That’s a good chunk of my life, and I’ve certainly changed a bit over the course of this blog’s existence. My feelings about blogging have shifted subtlely as well, and my approach. I much more laidback about the whole blogging thing now than I was when I started, although I think that I started mellowing fairly early on, and I would credit that with the fact that my blog is still here. I want to reiterate something I’ve said many times before, and that’s that if you decide to blog, you must be doing it for yourself, ultimately, or you will burn-out. Blogging should be your hobby, not your chore.

I like blogging and I’m glad I started anime blogging; I am thankful to the short-lived All Girls Round Robin, which pushed me to take a stab at anime blogging after having failed previously. I’ve met a lot of pretty cool people through blogging, and have even met a decent number of them (at last count, nine, although that figure is going to take a massive leap at Anime Boston this weekend). I even managed to pick up a boyfriend through blogging! Imagine that! So, bros, just think – anime blogging is the ticket to friends and dates, woo!

Oh, changes, will there be changes? Yes, there will be, but maybe not as much as I think there will. My post schedule has been pretty inconsistent for the past eighteen months or so, if I’m truly honest, so I’m not sure that me deploying will cause much of a change from that inconsistency. Just know that my blog isn’t legit dead unless I do a farewell post. And, not to be morbid, but if I croak, my otouto’ll let you know. I’ve got my contingencies covered.

That’s all I really have to say. I’m grateful for all of you who have stuck with me through the years as readers (and a shout-out to Baka-Raptor, since he was my very first commenter!), and for those of you I’ve managed to become friends with, and for those of you I’ve met. I blog because I enjoy gasbagging about foreign cartoons, but it is gratifying to know, too, that at least a few folks think my words worthy of their time. I love you – I truly, honestly do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rolling Out of Year Five

  1. foshizzel says:

    Metanorn is also 5years old!

    Congrats Day ❤

  2. bakaraptor says:

    Awwwwwwwwww, I’d pinch your cheeks if only my raptor claws weren’t so sharp.

  3. Completing five years together is like ‘fate’! So, congrats and here’s to many more years to come!

    • A Day Without Me says:

      I sure hope that I’ll be hanging around for a good while longer.

  4. The Kenosha Kid says:

    Congratulations! Here’s to another happy __ years! And thank you for keepin’ up the blog—it’s a total pleasure to read.

Comments are closed.