Donten ni Warau at a Glance

donten ni warau ed

Well…. I liked the ED.

I have little to say about Donten ni Warau, primarily because it isn’t terribly clear what sort of show this is in the first place. Yes, there’s the historical setting, and there are some hints of the supernatural at the very edges, but the overall episode is so bland as to defy easy categorization. Put more directly, this episode wasn’t good, nor was it bad. It just… was. It also gave the feeling that this will be one of those thirteen episode shows where the entirety is spent on build-up and groundwork, and a second season is never made for the payoff, it having not sold well in the first place.

And… that’s just about all I can say. There are some allusions to Japanese folktales that may pass some viewers by – the opening bit is clearly an allusion to Yamato-no-Orochi, later confirmed by the reference to that tale a character makes, but I expect most folks will catch that. Slightly more obscure is the discussion about what the criminal being imprisoned should’ve brought with him; the entire process of ferrying the criminal to the island fortress prison calls to mind the afterlife beliefs about the dead crossing the River Sanzu and needing to bring along six coins. Mind you, it may turn out that a criminal should’ve brought something else, but the framing leads in this direction.

Hoping this thing gets more of a character to it, but not holding my breath. One of those shows you’ll forget two seasons after watching.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Donten ni Warau at a Glance

  1. I tried reading the manga because I liked the art style but I had no idea wth is going on even after 1 volume. It reminds me a lot of Amatsuki and usually I like all things Japanese mythology inspired but it’s OK. Very colorful but not cohesive plot-wise. IDK maybe the anime can fix it? Who can say.

  2. Artemis says:

    I agree – it was honestly a bit of a struggle to watch the whole episode, not because it was awful but because I just couldn’t bring myself to care. I actually thought the final minute or so was a lot more compelling than the rest of the episode had been, but by then it was definitely too little, too late. Since I don’t much like the art style either, I’m pretty sure I won’t be back for another round.

Comments are closed.