Flip Flappers at a Glance

flip-flappers-1

I don’t get it.

I was sorely tempted to leave it at that, but it’d be a bit cheap and not quite precise.

Let’s back up a touch – Flip Flappers is about a couple of girls who presumably will be magical girls based more on promo material than on what we see here. One of them is a “normal” girl who seems a bit dissatisfied with where she’s going in life and at a loss as a result, while the other plays the space-cadet role. Space Cadet drops into Normie’s life, weirds her out, and then they fall into a parallel world which has snow that tastes sweet and sentient frozen trees that hurl themselves into a lake like so many lemmings*.

If this sounds like not much to go on, you would be on the money. This opening episode features some nifty animation at points, with no real frame for it to be hung on. With so little sense of who these girls are beyond their strict archetypes (annoying genki girl who doesn’t know when to take “no” for an answer, serious girl who probably hates fun) or of an underlying story, I felt bored and irritated throughout.

That being said, there are quite a few people who are quite jazzed about it, so I think your mileage will depend on how much your attention perks up at the word “sakuga”. If sakuga alone isn’t enough to keep you watching, you may wish to try something else.

* Spoiler: Lemmings don’t actually do this the way popular culture thinks that they do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flip Flappers at a Glance

  1. cantors says:

    This reminds me of Rolling Girls in that it looked intriguing, but there seems to nothing nothing much in the way of plot or characterization. They both had pretty animation though!

    Also, I’m not sure if you this was intentional or not, but I think you meant “sakuga.”

    • A Day Without Me says:

      Thanks for catching that! I did – and this is why I really dislike auto-correct, which I haven’t yet figured out how to turn off on my phone -_-

      Regarding Rolling Girls, though, I did think the first episode suggested an overarching storyline, and this just didn’t.

  2. samui says:

    Aside from the visual eyecandy, color me bored with this premiere. I am gonna watch until they become magical girls though.😀

Leave a Reply

