Week in Review, 4/17 – 4/23

anonymous noise 2

If I ever hear Twinkle Twinkle, Little Star again, it’ll be too soon.

So… earlier this week, I took a look at my shelf, decided to climb on a chair so that I could look at it more closely, and returned to the floor with my Strawberry Panic DVD set clutched in hand (helpfully marked “Animeworks Classic”). I then proceeded to ignore allegedly finer stuff such as the likes of Ideon in favor of binging a huge helping of schoolgirl yuri. But I’ll leave that one for another post.

Anonymous Noise, ep. 2

What the hell is wrong with these children? Even by shoujo melodrama standards, these kids are ridiculous and should go see their freaking guidance counselor. And, for that matter, even by shoujo high school melodrama standards, their backstories involve a hell of a lot of small children behaving in ways that beggar belief. Seriously, how many nine year olds do you really think are around talking about how they feel like they can’t breathe because a friend has moved away?

I want to like Anonymous Noise, seriously. I love a shoujo high school series once in a while! I really like the Kamisama Kiss manga, and I thoroughly enjoyed A Devil and Her Love Song, and the latter was pretty melodramatic. But Anonymous Noise so far seems just, well, too much, maybe because the characters don’t seem to behave recognizably like human beings. Sure, in high school practically everything feels like a realllllly huge deal! But even at my most self-serious I never did something like go sing at the ocean all day long rather than going to school, and ditto for friends of mine and classmates who were given to outbursts of drama queen antics.

The one thing that I am relieved to find in this show so far is that at least these kids are clear with themselves about who they like and the fact that they like them – none of that “Ohh but why does my chest feel funny???” junk that is so hideously tiresome.

Starmyu S2, ep. 3

Occasionally I find myself wondering why it is that other characters in Starmyu try to help Hoshitani out so much, before I realize that, actually, who cares? Hoshitani is our lovable doofus, the guy who acts as the glue for the rest of his group, intellect and skill be damned. And I am fine with that – he even grew on me over the course of the first season, such that while his response to Nayuki’s confession made me want to slap him, it didn’t make me want to kick his teeth in. This is an important difference! I suppose another way of putting this all is that the show has managed to convince me that people wanting Hoshitani to succeed is believable.

If Hoshitani on the whole isn’t a particularly unique character type, I do find it interesting that the show keeps reminding us that he’s still lacking a lot compared to his peers. How often do shows like this let their lead continue to suck at their professed dream? Usually the lucky lead gets catapulted somehow to the top of the heap, making the sort of progress that doesn’t make any sense versus the timescale. I’m not sure I would go so far as to say I prefer having the lead struggle to improve but have an unusual amount of support from those around him, but at the very least I find it satisfying here.

On a different tack, the re-appearance of Nayuki’s younger sisters makes me hope that we’ll see them more often this season.

Re:Creators, ep. 1-2

After two episodes of this, I’m not really getting all the love this one seems to be attracting. I don’t dislike it, and there are some things in it which pique my curiosity, but I’m not really impressed nor do I get the sense that it’ll ultimately go anywhere impressive.

I was irked by the bit toward the end of the second episode which appeared to be arguing that “serious” stories are inherently superior to those that are or seem to be on the lighter side. This didn’t start off so poorly, as tossing a ten or twelve year old from a magical girl show into the mix did give an opportunity to make things more complicated. But the way things went during the fight… Sigh. The magical girl’s breathless protest about there never having been any blood in her own world’s fights made me roll my eyes pretty hard. Selesia’s comments on how, SHEESH, well, she comes from a world that does have blood and pain simply had me rolling my eyes back in the other direction. “Darker” doesn’t mean “better”, and there are a hell of a lot of fluffier-seeming shows out there that deliver something more engaging in two episodes than this has.

I’m also unable to stop asking myself why the male lead is the person at the center of the story. Seriously, why this high school boy over any other possible lead? What purpose does it serve that the story is centered around a guy who is much like thousands of other somewhat meek high school anime boys? Because he’s knowledgeable about the franchises everyone is from? Even so, though – why him? What is the point here?

Kado: The Right Answer, ep. 3

I thoroughly enjoyed the back and forth about the issues of information lost in communication, but I suspect quite a few people were squirming in boredom. Remember The Perfect Insider? What we’ve gotten in here in terms of deeper conversations about meaning and such is what I had expected out of The Perfect Insider. Bonus points for not (yet?) promoting the idea that serial killers are nifty and their intelligence is to be commended.

Bahamut: Virgin Soul, ep. 1

I did not watch the first season of this show. However, while I am sure I missed out on some of the deeper stuff going on in this episode, I found it easy to follow what was going on. It’s sort of bog-standard stuff at the moment – slavery is bad! economic inequality is bad! – but Nina all by herself is the sort of character who can elevate something pretty standard, which is admittedly itself a bit intriguing since her own archetype isn’t exactly unique or novel. Energetic and cheerful girl with a big appetite who has big plans to make good in the big city? Yeah, there’s been a few of those over the years… And, too, her habit of getting entirely too worked up and flustered over theoretically attractive guys isn’t totally unique. Yet, she’s an endearing girl so far, and “if I get too horny, I turn into a dragon” is a slight twist on the whole thing! And, shit, it sure beats that whole thing in Karin where the girl just got her period out her nose whenever she got all hot and bothered.

By the way, Kaisar – is it just me, or is he the love child of Elvis and Byakuya from Bleach?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week in Review, 4/17 – 4/23

  1. Artemis says:

    Bahamut (the first season) was one of those shows that I had no expectation of enjoying. I’m not a big fan of big action/adventure pieces at the best of times, as they just tend to bore me, but I think Bahamut really knocked it out of the park in a few ways. While I don’t think you need to see the first season to be able to enjoy the second, it’s something I’d recommend watching at some point purely for entertainment’s sake.

  2. DerekL says:

    “If I ever hear Twinkle Twinkle, Little Star again, it’ll be too soon.”

    You and me both, you and me both… I also want to like Noise, but coming on the heels of the very similar Fuuka and all it’s problems, that’s not coming easily.

    • This is an interesting comparison; I hadn’t thought of it before, but now that you’ve mentioned it, it makes so much sense. I suppose at least here we should be mercifully free of absurd amounts of panty-shots followed by girls kicking the crap out of hapless boys… However, I am not sure I’ll be watching Noise past the next episode as I don’t think I can really sit through it if it keeps on like this.

Leave a Reply

