Nabari no Ou Episode 17

Whoops, a bit late on this one.

My life is a bit beyond my control at the moment, so you’re only going to get my impressions of this as I was watching… if you want a summary, click here – Totali of Subculture Anime Blog does a very good job on the summaries, even if he is getting scared about all the BL elements that are cropping up.

  • Hanabusa = awesome; she really handled Yukimi well
  • Raimei looked a bit like Shijima when she was lurking outside of Kouichi’s window
  • oh, hey, so that’s what Miharu said on the phone to Raimei – I must admit I’m a bit surprised that he asked her to kill him if he ever errs
  • oh, hey, think I might be pulling for Kouichi x Raimei finally
  • also, that scene with Raimei and Kouichi talking was probably the most character development we’ve really had for either in a while… sure we’ve learned stuff about them, but we haven’t really seen into them
  • more mad ninja action! that was some good animation there…
  • oh look, Miharu’s cat being suspicious again…
  • by the way, that whole ‘secret hideout’ scene was a bit absurd feeling
  • I love Raimei, but bringing Yukimi to the school was just dumb
  • oh, thanks for letting us know you’re not a lolicon, Yukimi
  • it was a bit funny how Yoite completely ignored Raimei, even as she got defensive
  • YES KUMOHIRA GREW SOME BALLS
  • and it was really awesome
  • butt raep?
  • Yoite sure does bleed at convenient moments
  • the animators just threw the BL crowd another bone =D
  • Yoite’s pit of emo made me think of Ken in Digimon 02
  • maybe Kumohira is the Engetsurin?
  • I really, really do like Hanabusa and her relationship with Kumohira; that scene was wonderful, and the immediate scene after it was heartbreaking despite itsbrevity
  • I would love to smack Yoite right now for being a dumbass
  • what on earth is the true nature of Hattori and blind lady’s relationship, by the way? I still haven’t figured it out exactly

Overall Impressions:

Wow, I am never using that approach again – it saved a lot of time, but, good god, I couldn’t really watch the episode itself.

Anyway, it has gotten very, very clear that Yukimi, for all his bluster, cannot harm children, even if they are ninjas; he had said things before which implied such, but his run-in with Yoite really proved it.

Kumohira didn’t really do much, but his brief encounter with Yukimi really raised him up in my book.

Hooray for Kouichi and Raimei – I sort of doubt it’ll ever get full-fledged, but I’d say it’s very clear that they do like one another. I like this one because it was that air of young romance about it, which is a bit funny given that Kouichi is quite a few centuries old.

More and more it is becoming obvious that Nabari no Ou is, truly, about the ties that bind as opposed to being about action, etc. And the whole thing is getting seriousy messy and complicated as a result… not confusing, but definitely complicated.

I love this show – sorry I didn’t do a summary this time around, guys.

This entry was posted in A Day Without Me, Nabari no Ou and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nabari no Ou Episode 17

  1. totali says:

    Hello, friend! I hear you like yaoi shows with ninja overtones. Is this true?

    Raimei still wins.

  2. Alaena says:

    Cool summarizing style! Brief but effective. I like the points you made about the episode. Yukimi really is a softy. I imagine he could maybe probably hurt kids if he -had- to, but I think he’s grudgingly come to like Yoite. I actually love Yukimi to death.

    AMEN @ liking Hanabusa! She’s my favorite female character in almost any anime series. She’s just so lovely and likable. Despite the fact that she is rather notably older than Thobari, (more than ten years @_@) they make an awesome couple.

    I’m totally rooting for Kouichi x Raimei, too.

    All love to Kumohira’s brief moment of awesomeness!

    Lol, I actually think Yoite needs hugs. Lots and lots of hugs. (Yep… I’m one of those people, lol. Fangirls… o_o) But then maybe a smack. And then more hugs. ❤

  3. adaywithoutme says:

    @ totali – Well, I like yaoi shows in general – the ninjas are a bonus here.

    @ Alaena – Glad you liked the summary – I was concerned no one would since it is a bit disjointed XD I’ll be going back to my usual for the next episode, though.

Comments are closed.