Yosuga no Sora at a Glance

This season’s true dose of siscon.

As opposed to the maybe-will, maybe-won’t of OreImo.

Well, pretty standard stuff here – boy returns to some town he’s spent time in previously in the past, girls start swooning over him. Add in the additional things generally found in titles with faux and real incest, which is to say, add his sister to the potential harem mix and have her do weird stuff like strip in his room and imagine sticking her tongue in his mouth. Tasteful. Pun fully intended.

However, there are two points where Yosuga no Sora differs slightly, and that is in what it thinks of as being entirely appropriate for broadcast TV. Yeah, harem shows are full of fanservice – jiggling boobs, panty shots, etc. But kudos to Yosuga no Sora for managing to include a truly questionable kissing scene between elementary school-aged twins, AND a random masturbation scene involving a minor character.

Don’t worry – it was complete with truly awkward moaning. I’m guessing the voice actress doesn’t hail from hentai land. Also: who the fuck cries after they masturbate?

The scene of the twins kissing isn’t actually too terrible at first. They’re kids in it, and I honestly could see a young kid kissing his sibling since he doesn’t really know any better. But then Sora (the girl) starts spreading her legs, and it just is beyond awkward and distasteful. I felt seriously grossed out. I mean, fine, have the two make-out now and have her start spreading her legs, whatever. But in a scene where they both look about seven or eight years old? Blech.

Yosuga no Sora, then, is a show that only excels at… random, creepy bits of fanservice. Does a little girl’s legs spreading count as fanservice if you can’t see between her legs? I’m not sure, but I don’t know what else to deem it, honestly.

For those who really want some siscon in their diet, though, Yosuga no Sora does seem to be heading in that direction, if the OP is to be taken as any indicator. And for those who REALLY LOVE ED’s, there are two of them. I really have no inkling as to why, they just do.

I could say more about the show, like how its weird the way Haru (the guy) acts around girls who allegedly know him from the past, or that the sleeves on the girls’ uniforms suck. I could mention that the background music is actually fairly good. There are a few other things I could go on about, too. But I honestly just can’t make myself care enough to do so. This is pretty run of the mill crap.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Yosuga no Sora at a Glance

  1. VucubCaquix says:

    “who the fuck cries after they masturbate?”

    Guys do. Sometimes. Who I suspect may be the target audience of this and its eroge.

    Don’t look at me like that.

  2. schneider says:

    I read somewhere that they did use the original eroge voice cast for this one, so I guess the moaning VA did come from hentai land.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Geez, well, someone needs some more moaning lessons, then.

      • Shance says:

        The real issue here is if the said VAs have actually done voicing for anime, since doing sex and ecchi scenes in a VN is very different from doing it in anime or hentai.

        And given that this is an ecchi title chock-full of softcore, it might be pretty awkward.

  3. Charles says:

    Thank you for the review – from looking at a synopsis, I didn’t think the show would go down this path at all. And the character design was right up my alley, so I was thinking about watching it.

    Now? No need to. Thanks. 🙂

    • VucubCaquix says:

      Yeah, you wouldn’t be served very well by this based on the content of your blog.

      I believe, however, that you’d have plenty of material to mine from Otome Youkai Zakuro (also airing currently), since it explicitly mentions the encroachment of Jesuit customs and influences on an alternate Meiji era Japan. Something like that sounds like it’d be right up your alley.

  4. Michael says:

    Overall as the last person said i read the synopsis on animedreaming.tv and I didn’t think it would go this way. This anime is at the line that separates anime from HENTAI. And when I say at the line it could TIP OVER at ANY MOMENT. but who gives a fuck. I agree with you sir spreading her legs at 7 was wrong, and it will make you feel……ODD.
    but anyway with how the first episode was I am excited to watch this anime and have high hopes for it… MY ONLY QUESTION IS WHY DID IT HAVE TO EN AT THE PART WHERE ZORA AND HARY WERE ABOUT TO HAVE SEX.

  5. Aorii says:

    My biggest wonder was… WTH was the purpose of that scene at the end. Rest of the fanservice was mostly just stupid, but that part was creepy on a diff scale (=_= )

  6. Kyokai says:

    Checked this out because I check everything out but dropped in an instant. Who wants to see two little kids getting it on? =.=;;

  7. Sorrow-kun says:

    Also: who the fuck cries after they masturbate?

    Maybe she’d just seen… a tear jerker. I’ll get my coat.

  8. keit says:

    Do you know the title of the background music that is sometimes played with violin, piano or guitar?

Comments are closed.