Dragonaut drove me to drinking

DRUNK BLOGGING FOR RHTE WIN!!!

Thats;a basically me right anow… I’d dshow you Depth, BUT DEPTH’S PASSED AOUT PN THE FLOOR! So yeah.

Ok, soa maaybe Dragonaut didn

‘ta drive us to drinoing… it was a bit incidental to the drinking. More like dEpth and I partied, and the I said, “HEY let’saa watch Dragoanut!” And it was bad. All I remembers is asomething about Kazuki screaming for Gio and being kinda gay whilea doing so.

Does this really relate to anime? Mo. Is this a self-masturbaroyu exercise? A bt. It was borne of the idea of, “Hey! I kanow! I should bglow while durnk!” I will probablya come to regret this. ut I am a psychology student, so I want to knowa how epeopele will react! I like to picks the brains of others.

So, we drank. And we watched CDragosnut (haha, I typed it ‘dragosnut;!). And it was bad. So then we switched to Fullmetal Alchemist. And that was cosnfusing!

The moral of this story? Don’t mix alcogol and anime. Its bad. And you end tup with your co-blogger passed out on your foor, drunk off their ass.

Am I making a fool of myself? Perhaos. I am showing my lack of sobriety ina a pseudo-public manner, aterall. I will, in all likelaihood, never nmeet any of you, yet my web persona is, in amANYW ways, important. Much like my apublic self is the only self the people I physically meet will know, my webs slef is the only self that you guys will meet; thsua, it is important to preserve some measure of propeitry. Howevr, one could make the argument that, in blogging hentai titles, I sort of threw that out the windowa anyway, so, well, its naot gonna getdsa any worse. But evena tin that action there is a degree of… dignity that I am fully discarding whilea permitting myself near aa keybodard onWordpress whilst intocixcated.

HOWEVER I thought it would eba fun to try, evena if my yttyping is incomprehensible.

Some shwosa are better while drunk. Hentai shoiws are hystericla while drunk. Gundam Wing becoems gundam AWESOME after a few shots, since sucddenly its absurd autre and overt homoeroticism (to the fujoshi like me) becomes startlignly clear. Alcohlo mcannot help Dragnoaunt, but it can help many another title. Drinking games made Inu-Yasha bearable to more ahtrna ten episodes, after all/.

good god, I should put Depth into sometuing more comfotable than the floor.

Alcoho, alsoi presents an interesitng thing to consider in anime. Alcohom witihn Japanese culture serves a somewhat different purose than witrihn American culture in that it completely dgrases the wheels of social interaction – Japanese society, after all, demands that people be fairly discrete; add booze, though, and its ok to be a bit sloppy. Drunkedness is not protrayed as negatively withjin anime and manga as it is within American mediums, although alcoholism is vcertainly still a negative. But drinking is seen as a somewhat mandatory social obligation in anime snd manga, which is not the case in American mediums, except for inc ertain settings (e.g. fraternities, etc.). some day, I might writre a much more lucid post on the topic.

On the reverse of it, children and the underaged are not depicted as beinga intocixated comlonyl at all within aime and manga. Certainly the odd one, usually one cdepicting college life, will show the sake as it makes its rounds, but its hard to pick out an anime which shows alcoho, consumption by the underaged otherwise. Alcohol tends to bve the exclusive territory of adults, specifically working adults, within anime – Hataraki Man, Paranoiua Agent, Himitsu~The Revelation~ (dude, that needs to be subbed more!), etc., they all depict it. If you haven’t seen any of these yet, you should go watch them, especially Hataraki Man, since working women are freaking awesome – you know you love us, not just those girls with guns… althugh I am a girl with a gun.

Speaking of which, I tihnk I qaulkify as moe gar, technically speaking. Just felt like metnioning theat.

So, yes, anime and calohol. Inttesresting topic. I will stdy it in-depth sometday. But I ave an unconscious wprsn on my floor! Seriously!

P.S. We watched some hentai, too – it made Depth uncofmrtoable, haha.

Oh, and check out the alink on the side for ‘Cj Baseball’ – maybe you don’t like basebaklk, but he plays in Japan, and its another interesting view of Japan from a froeginer’s persepctive.

P.P.S. – My suitemaytes are loud and it makes me sad because I want to got to aseleep ;_;

This entry was posted in A Day Without Me, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dragonaut drove me to drinking

  1. IcyStorm says:

    Shit, this is unreadable. Don’t do this again @_@

    And I don’t know if this is for real or not.

    :O

  2. adaywithoutme says:

    @ IcyStorm 0- It is naot undreadable! I just re-read it! Its hard ato, but you CAN make sense of it!

  3. Sagacious1 says:

    I’m much too sober to make sense of that.

  4. Baka-Raptor says:

    I actually read the whole thing. I can’t say that about most blog posts.

  5. Michael says:

    This is like a pseudo-Under the Volcano. But anyway … um … yeah.

  6. Yamcha says:

    This makes about as much sense as Ozzy Ozbourne trying to explain the principles of quantum physics.

  7. adaywithoutme says:

    @ Sagacious1 – This clearly means you need to have a few drinks.

    @ Baka-Raptor – Mm… thanks?

    @ Michael – Hmm, I fail since I didn’t get the reference when I read it while under the influence or when I just re-read it now.

    @ Yamcha – Well, I sort of ended up expanding on some vague points touched upon in a post a few minutes ago so…

  8. wine says:

    Hmm…I could read all of it without any problem…maybe it’s because I have experience in this area. I read worse. T.T -.-

    Btw, I heard you aren’t suppose to allow people to pass out when they are drunk as that could lead to alcohol poisoning. that you should actually wake them up and make sure they stay awake till they get sober. what do you think?

  9. Pingback: hoisted from the archives: the complete minaide! hazukashii… coverage of dragonaut | 見ないで! ひとり言

Comments are closed.