Jigoku Shoujo Mitsuganae Half-Season Review

15

Alright, I’ll admit it – this show could be absolute crap, and I’d still love it.

After all, I’ve watched most of the live action version, and I’ll claim to like that despite the obvious fact that J-dramas tend toward the awful.

Honestly, the third incarnation of Jigoku Shoujo Mitsuganae can be boiled down to this – if you’ve always liked the franchises, you’ll like this. If you’ve never liked Jigoku Shoujo, this isn’t going to change your mind, and might even convince you that you were right to drop it all that time ago during the first season.

This is the first season that the theme song was not done by SNoW, something I’ll admit to having been leery of at first, but Nana Kitade’s Tsukihana proves to be surprisingly good.

Anyway, I’ve always loved JS, and probably always will (if we get a fourth season, I’d be thrilled!), so I’m a bad person to ask about the actual quality of this show. I’ll admit that there’s been a higher amount of dumb this season than in previous seasons, but that the good stuff has been top-shelf. Episode twelve’s live action-ish portion is also worth mentioning, as it broke with previous convention of this show, and it also expanded into a medium generally not utilized in anime (the last instance of cut-outs being used was in the Antique Bakery OP). And I think such statements more of less bring me back to my original caution – I’m a bad person to ask about this show, because I’ll sing its praises until pigs fly out of Mamiko Noto’s ass.

EDIT: Also, JSM gets an epic win for ‘TATANIC’ in episode twelve – trying to find a cap for it, its ultra lulz.

This entry was posted in A Day Without Me, Series Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jigoku Shoujo Mitsuganae Half-Season Review

  1. omisyth says:

    I’ve always liked Jigoku Shoujo, and I think that most of this season is a travesty. Except for episode 13, which was awesome, but the show has a long way to go to redeem itself in my eyes.

  2. miz says:

    Hmmm… I agree, that even if Jigoku Shoujo really is not that good this season, as a fan I would have to say that the series is still something I’ll watch.. if you get the chance you should watch the pv for Nana Kitade’s Tsukihana. I also annoyed by the live action, but as far as the anime goes, just to hear Mamiko Noto say “Ippen Shinde miru” kinda makes up for everything else.

  3. Pingback: Resolutions for 2009 « GAR GAR Stegosaurus

Comments are closed.