New Yumeiro Patissiere Season Announced

Just when all the folks thought they were done with their autumn previews, WHAM!

UPDATED DETAILS AVAILABLE HERE

Not that I really expect anyone to run back and alter those previews in any way over a show such as this; as a matter of fact, I’m anticipating being perhaps the only blogger making note of this. And, honestly, I probably wouldn’t be bothering to except for the fact that I’ve been a fan of the show, and I’ve been feeling a bit leery about the end of it. I’ve really enjoyed having a bright spot of dependable shoujo in  my line-up, so I was feeling bummed about it closing out and leaving me with nothing of that sort to replace it. I mean, yeah, maybe Tantei Opera Milky Holmes will transcend its moe-moe, lolicon origins, but you can color me skeptical on that.

Anyway, this new season of YP will be called Yumeiro Patissiere Professional, and instead of being a direct sequel, it’ll take several years after YP when the core cast are adults and are working in their professional careers. A few other characters are set to be introduced as well.

I find this fairly interesting and am looking forward to seeing how it’ll all be handled. YP was very, very much a shoujo title, and the characters in it were at the upper-end of the target audience’s age range. But here they’ll be attempting to retain that shoujo atmosphere, yet they’ll be operating with an adult cast. I hope the characters will have matured appropriately and not still be acting like middle schoolers, although I am sure that there will still be plenty of moments of character weakness from which they can learn and change. Just so long as those don’t stretch credulity too much… although I’m still not expecting them to act like real adults.

I’m also curious as to the romance angle. YP has been awesomely mellow on that, something pretty rare for shoujo – we’ve only gotten hints that Makoto and Satsuki have crushes on Ichigo, and they only really started popping up at all in the second half of the show. Ichigo for her part seems to have a crush on Henri-sensei, but hasn’t exactly been sitting around pining over him. Mari also appears to have a thing for Henri-sensei. But its all been very much background and not at all overwrought; the plot of the show is all about the pastries and the individual growth of the characters.

That all being said, if I had to guess, I’d say that the romance with any potential canon status would be Makoto and Ichigo. Its getting the most hints, even if Ichigo displays far more interest in Henri-sensei. However, I don’t see how the show could actually advance that with the four episodes it has left. And since it will probably be left at what it is now, I’m wondering how they plan to work that into the next season – again, the next season takes place years later, not immediately after, so presumably everyone in the cast will have gone through a lot more together. Assuming that next season has any interest in integrating a romance storyline at all.

Anyway, I’m probably overanalyzing all of that to an astounding degree… 😉

On another tack, other than what I’ve mentioned, there aren’t any further details out yet. So no idea as to how many episodes this thing is slated for; I am hoping for a set of twenty-six at the very least, although I’d be thrilled if I could get another year out of this franchise. Its just a very fun show.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to New Yumeiro Patissiere Season Announced

  1. kadian1364 says:

    A major time skip between seasons? The only time I remember that happening in anime is Nanoha StrikerS, which didn’t pan out so well…

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Yeah, but I don’t think you can really draw any conclusions from that to this at all – it’s a different show, a different genre, a different studio, a different set of production crew, etc.

  2. Aorii says:

    Totally Makoto x Ichigo, like every major scene she gets to be along with one of them it’s always Makoto~

    I thought I was excited before, a timeskip to official careerhood? I absolutely cannot wait for this now 😀

    • adaywithoutme says:

      I must confess to enjoying her crush on Henri-sensei, though… I’m really wondering what’ll happen with Mari over the next few episodes given her pretty obvious jealousy regarding Ichigo and Henri-sensei.

      But with the Ichigo x Makoto dynamic, I appreciate that it hasn’t been a MAJOR plot point or anything. It’s just a part of the overall story.

      Time skip is awesome, although I’m sure I would’ve been happy even if they hadn’t decided to do that at all. I wonder if this will mean that they are departing from the manga completely, though? Hope that doesn’t hurt them too much.

  3. hashi says:

    As the other blogger who likes YumePati, I’d like to return the favor and post a comment on your interesting observations. The possibility of romance is intriguing — but can they pull it off for the target audience? I’ve got to say that bossy tsundere guy characters are not my favorite, but clearly the set-up is IchigoxMakoto. We’ll see what, if anything, happens.

    I’m pretty sure they plan to depart completely from the manga. They may really plan to develop this show’s romance aspect, as well as maintaining its personal growth core. Can’t wait. But first, there are five fascinating episodes of the first series to complete.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Yeah, I don’t think Andou is interested in Ichigo at all, and there’s absolutely no way that Satsuki is being positioned to win Ichigo’s heart. I’m still not crazy about Makoto, but he’s improved a LOT since he first showed up.

      I’m bummed since it’s on break this week =( I got all excited to watch it last night, only to see a message on Crunchyroll’s page for the show stating that it was taking a week off. Boo!

  4. uR2kawaii says:

    i cant believe makato didnt move on ichigo over 2 seasons even since they grown up
    :O
    so excited cant wait til next season 😀

  5. yumeiroxpatissiere says:

    im looking forward to the new season of YP.i hope that there will be chemistry between ichigo and kashino.<3
    if there are any updates of the new season remember to post it.thanks.i hope crunchyroll post the rest of the videos up

  6. Nikki says:

    So, being a huge fan myself, I’ve started a website today with the goal of actually making a realistic version of each pastry in the show! I just started today and you being a blogging fan, am looking forward to your input as well as if you know of any other bloggers taking on a similar task or have any suggestions.

    http://yumeiropatissieresweets.blogspot.com/

    • adaywithoutme says:

      That sounds like areally interesting idea. I’m not a huge pastry person, but the show constantly makes my mouth water.

      I’ll have to check your blog out. I’m on vacation right now, but I’ll be sure to when I get back home.

    • Skye says:

      this is awesome 😀

  7. ImmortalDude says:

    I really hope that the next season will have the SatsukixIchigoxKashino love triangle! It would be so fun watching Satsuki and Kashino fight over Ichigo! I’m pretty sure Andou doesn’t have much intrest in Ichigo in a romantic way. He’s more of a big brother to her. I also wonder if Kahiro will still be head over heels for Kashino the next season. That would be a big problem for the IchigoxKashino couple. Let’s just hope for the best.

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Unfortunately for you, it doesn’t look like Satsuki will be involved in the triangle next season.

  8. Starlight says:

    I’m really glad there will be a new season, but I’m worried about the content. But it still is something to look foward to since this year’s anime batch haven’t really caught my attention. I was hoping YP’s new season would take place with them in high school…

    • Sue says:

      It does take place when they are going back to Japan after finishing their studies in Paris to start their 1st year in Highschool and the them is temporarily seperated. I guessing it’s a class schedule thing.

  9. Skye says:

    IM SO EXCITED 🙂
    ICHIGOxKASHINO I WOULDNT WANT IT ANY OTHER WAY!!

  10. Sue says:

    Just wanted to make a quick correction, YP Professional actually takes place 2 years after the Grand Prix when the already are finishing their studies in Paris and are headed back to Japan to start their first year in highschool. By the was I really love your blog and it’s nice to see someone write about it. 🙂

    • adaywithoutme says:

      Yeah, I watched episode fifty and saw all that. I also combed through the new website a bit for some more details, and did an updated post on it all =)

      Glad you like my blog.

  11. Azure says:

    Yes yes! The skip sound sreally good!!!!!! I cant wait for it to come out! XD
    I know for a fact that … *SPOILERS* *SPOILERS* as I was saying… I know for a fac that Ichigo WILL end up with Kashino I mean… look at ep 50… they were holding hands.

    Ah!!!! I hope that there will be a love triangle 😀

  12. Marie says:

    It there gonna be a third season if so where can I find it all I know its called tropical paradise

    • A Day Without Me says:

      That isn’t a third season, that was a short OVA; its probably been fansubbed, but there’s no legal way to get it.

  13. Cayla says:

    does anyone have a time estimate on when they will finally bring out the next season because if it takes to long I will have forgotten it as I am bad with memorizing stuff.

    • A Day Without Me says:

      This was an announcement of SP Professional, which already aired; there isn’t anymore anime planned.

  14. Rosphian Olmilla says:

    Is there any season 3? Im expecting for makoto and ichigo to get theire love story and i enjoy the mouth watering sweets..

Comments are closed.