Junjou Romantica 2 Half-Season Review

junjou

This screen-cap is as stupid as this show.

But I love it anyway.

Junjou Romantica is shallow, pandering, and silly. It is also some of the finest animated crack you can find (although, admittedly, us BL fans have pretty low standards on our animated products… its been a long time since Kaze to Ki no Uta, and there’s no end in sight).

…unfortunately, this season just hasn’t really quite lived up to the foolishness of the first season – yeah, we have more of the Romantica storyline’s endless back and forth, and we have some more of the penis rocket the emotional ups and downs of the Egoist storyline… but, dammit, where the hell is the Terrorist storyline? There hasn’t even been a hint at it! Haven’t we all had enough of Usagi and Misaki already? Their story is starting to get a bit old…

JR2 is pure crap, which is exactly what I was hoping for, but it isn’t exactly good pure crap this time, much to the disappointment of many. However, it does have a bit of time to redeem itself, as a dip into the Terrorist storyline would certainly improve things. It wouldn’t hurt things to maybe throw in some more from the Minimum storyline, although I doubt they could really work it all in with only six or seven episodes left, given that we still have THREE storylines to wrap up. Guess we’ll see, although this could hardly ever be called a classic.

This entry was posted in A Day Without Me, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Junjou Romantica 2 Half-Season Review

  1. saimaisama says:

    Yes, Junjo is crack. Ah, what will I do when it leaves again? There will be less to fangirl uselessly about. And goddamnit, Terrorist isn’t going to have much episodes at this rate. We’re all tired of Usagi and Misaki. Bright side, episode 8 is Terrorist. Hopefully they’ll get two episodes. I need to fangirl about Shinobu soon because I miss hearing Kishio Daisuke’s voice out of a drama CD.

    Hopefully we’ll get another BL series sooner rather than later. I think it’d be great if we got more crack to fangirl about. T_T

  2. adaywithoutme says:

    @ saimaisama – I would really love to have a quality BL anime… but I tend to doubt we’re going to see one anywhere in the near future.

    I’m crossing my fingers for three Terrorist episodes… but I’m not going to lie, I’d really like maybe an episode of Minimum, I’m a total sap for the ‘innocent, youthful love’ junk.

Comments are closed.