Nostalgia is Beautiful

tenchi-muyo-abbey-road

Because I can’t leave well enough alone.

I feel like that was a perfect image to use – Tenchi Muyo provokes nostalgia in significant segments of the aniblogosphere, whereas Abbey Road inflames the passions in a very large segment of the world’s middle-aged English speaking population. As for myself, I actually started listening to The Beatles around the same time as I first saw Tenchi Muyo, so its just a double-whammy of nostalgia for me.

I feel like a lot has already been hashed over, what with Eternal’s post and his inspiration, DarkMirage’s post, but I can’t resist the urge to pontificate upon the point.

Like my title implies, I feel that nostalgia is a beautiful thing, something which occurs fairly independently of whatever one is being nostalgic about. Consider this – does the quality of something affect your nostalgia for it? Generally not, because what you are hankering after is the sensation it originally produced in you, the feelings you experienced however long ago it was. I get nostalgic about the old episodes of Pokemon, back when it was just 150 Pokemon and Ash, Misty, and Brock jaunting about the countryside, helping folks and catching Pokemon… not because these are necessarily good but because I enjoyed them and had fun when I watch them. What I’m really yearning after is the happiness I felt as a middle schooler when I watched it, particularly since I was fairly tortured by my classmates as a middle-schooler. Maybe more specifically I seek the sense of relief I used to have back then, that no matter how crappy my day had been, when I got home at 3:30 Pokemon would be on!

However, one must clearly keep a sense of why they feel so rosy about the shows they enjoyed as a youngster, or even simply as a younger person. Pokemon is a bit of a bad example, as no one is really going to trumpet it past their adolescence as an example of something which is “good”. Instead, let us consider the case of Tenchi Muyo from its heyday, e.g. the OVA’s and first TV series.

Tenchi Muyo is something which I consider to be “good” from a detached perspective; it is a show which is quite enjoyable, as it managed to avoid sinking too deep into the more vapid harem antics (fuck yeah, no tsunderes!) and threw in some pretty solid world-building aspects. The OVA’s also had impressive technical qualities for their era. And, yes, it helped that the cast was engaging; yes, Tenchi himself could’ve been a bit more developed, but he did possess enough development to make it possible to relate to him. My nostalgia-vision, though, tells me that Tenchi Muyo wasn’t simply “good” but was AWESOME. And I know that, honestly, it was good but it certainly cannot be counted up there with things such as Night on the Milky Way Railroad or Legend of the Galactic Heroes or (to jump a bit in time) Revolutionary Girl Utena. And I used it as an example specifically because of that fact.

Which brings me to my point – that there’s a lot of knee-jerk reactions when someone says they don’t particularly care for an older show. Older doesn’t equate with better; it is very important to keep firmly lodged in one’s mind that their warm affections for a particular title have much, much more to do with their mindset and circumstances when they themselves watched it.

I suppose I’m arguing a bit for a post-modernist reading of what exactly anime mean and what their worth is. I don’t completely agree with that interpretation, though, because I would say that there are titles which can be marked aside as being “classic” or “great”. However, this itself doesn’t quite translate over into entertainment value – I think it is important to watch the original Gundam to give oneself context as regards whatever they are enjoying of a recent iteration of Gundam, but I don’t think that they will necessarily enjoy it or like it. Depriving oneself of the roots of their present is troublesome in an extreme.

To return to the issue of nostalgia, there is also the sheer fact that nostalgia is something which gives us a very artificial and edited slice of the past. Like I said, middle school sucked… but when I am reminded of Pokemon, that isn’t what I recall; what I remember is the fun I had watching Pokemon in the afternoons.

The reason new fans tend to ignore older titles in favor of the new is that they do not have these experiences we do, ones which are overall irrevocably connected to our childhoods, something many of us feel are completely out of reach. Newer fans tend to be younger fans; thus, there is no opportunity for feeling fuzzy about the fact that one used to wake up at 6 a.m. on Saturday mornings to watch the old DiC dubs of Sailor Moon (that I feel nostalgic for DiC dubs specifically indicates how tied it is to the experience itself as opposed to the object in question, since its a fairly agreed-upon fact that those dubs were terrible*). And, more importantly, these kids aren’t out of childhood yet, so there isn’t the drive older folks have to reminisce about things past; they’re still in the thick of things and often dreaming of being adults (especially if they’re into anime! we’re always the ones who get kicked around as adolescents and teenagers!).

Anyway, on that note, I’m going to go tear into Outlaw Star for the eight-hundredth time. So, have at it, vultures!

* If you’d like to burn some time having fun examining just how bad the DiC dubs were, I suggest checking out Sailor Moon Uncensored. Its a seriously comprehensive look at all the changes made from the original to the dubs (including the Cloverway one), and if you’re feeling loserly and nostalgic, its a ton of fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nostalgia is Beautiful

  1. Kiri says:

    The kids these days will have Naruto and Bleach to reminisce about. There’s nothin’ wrong with that. New generation. New shows. Otaku don’t need to actually reproduce to keep up their numbers! Ha!

  2. glothelegend says:

    Great. What is this Nostalgia week? I was brought back to my youth for the second time today. I remember coming home from school and watching Pokemon at 3:30, and then DBZ at 5:00, right after Reboot, which was an AWESOME show. My sister loved Sailor Moon, me and my friend watched it because “the girls were hot”. He liked Saturn. I said “Venus”. He grew up and doesn’t watch anime/cartoons. I am still a kid. No, I don’t jerk off to anime.

    Me and said friend also tried watching Gundam Wing, but we missed one episode and got totally lost, so we stopped.

  3. adaywithoutme says:

    @ Kiri – Exactly; for my age group it was Dragonball and Sailor Moon that acted as the gateway drugs. Bleach and Naruto will basically inspire the same sorts of emotions and sentiments in these folks about eight or ten years hence.

    @ glothelegend – Oh man, Gundam Wing – one of my first exposures to bootlegged Hong Kong subs (the other one? the second Pokemon movie… or as they called them in Hong Kong “Magical Sonnies”). It brings back the memories!

    As I got just a tiny bit older, I remember sitting in the TV room on hot summer nights watching Tenchi “Universe” at midnight. I also remember how cool and awesome it was when Cartoon Network helped commission a second season of The Big O, and how everyone was fluttering about proclaiming that this was The Next Big Step in anime production (and half of them were screaming holy hell about that fact).

    Great, now I’m really rolling down Memory Lane… (amusingly enough, I actually lived on a street called Memory Lane)

  4. KatieC says:

    I remember watching Toonami on Saturday nights and TOM, I was sad when he died 😦

    My anime viewing started with Sailor Moon and Dragon Ball and Pokemon. Then I saw Tenchi one day after school and got hooked on that. Outlaw Star was another one I watched too.I’ve seen every episode of Zoids Chaotic Century.
    After they stopped airing I started watching some of the newer stuff they had like Cyborg 009,Yu Yu Hakusho,Ruroni Kenshin. Then Zatch Bell and One Piece and Bobobo…I could go on and on. They always bring back good memories for me, and I don’t care if they were good or bad because even though sometimes watching anime got some reactions from my friends (who thought it was all weird etc.) I got to experience a new art style that I hadn’t really been exposed to before and I continue to enjoy it to this day.

Comments are closed.