Darker than Black: Ryuusei no Gemini Half-Season Review

darker-than-black-ryuusei-no-gemini-ep-6

Because Hei could be a lolicon AND a shoutacon… if he wanted to.

Yay, Darker than Black – you took the potentially annoying trope of having a teenager as your main character and made it good!

Seriously, though, this has been a solid season for DtB. The new characters thus far have fit into the storyline very well; Suou in particular has been suprisingly likable as a character. I was quite worried Bones was jumping the shark on us by having a loli along for the ride, but she’s not even particularly loli-esque! I’ve also really liked the fact that they are utilizing characters we didn’t see a ton of last season like Hazuki. July might not be exactly fascinating, but thats ok.

I guess my only real concern here is that it doesn’t really seem like there’s enough time left to wrap up the story; maybe they’re planning on having another twelve set ordered if this does well? Probably not… but it does seem like there is still a LOT to cover, and they only have six more episodes to do it…

Other things I’ve liked:

  • everyone is hot; I don’t usually think anime characters are hot,  but DtB has hot anime characters
  • Misaki’s Section Three colleagues are all amusingly ambiguous insofar as sexual orientation goes; its just… I don’t know, it amuses me (before you claim that Hazuki is the only one who is, I’ll remind you that Shizume called Hei ‘prince’ and said something about making him his, and that Sawasaki didn’t really indicate one way or another how she felt about Hazuki kissing her) (actually, if anything, Hazuki is the only one who is kind of clear on that point)
  • hobo Hei
  • the setting keeps changing

Anyway, I do have to call out episode six for having basically the most awkward emotional scene ever. Really, guys – I shouldn’t be laughing when people are mourning the death of a mother and wife.

Alright, I think that basically covers it. I hope that we don’t get some silly scheme with Yin, Suou, and Misaki all wanting to jump Hei’s bones, though, that’d be a bit ridiculous.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Darker than Black: Ryuusei no Gemini Half-Season Review

  1. nazarielle says:

    I hope that we don’t get some silly scheme with Yin, Suou, and Misaki all wanting to jump Hei’s bones

    Seems like Yin’s already there, Misaki’s sorta there, and Suou’s getting there. Won’t be long now :p

Comments are closed.