Seitokai no Ichizon Half-Season Review

seitokai-no-ichizon-ep-6

Wait… why wasn’t my high school student council like this?

I had really low expectations going in to watching Seitokai no Ichizon, and so I’ve ended up pretty pleasantly surprised. It seems that this is one of those cases where the original version having been one the weak side is a positive thing, since it has forced the anime writers to come up with better material. I’ve actually laughed out loud at this thing, and I think the last time I did that for an anime was… well, Detroit Metal City or Potemayo.

It helps a lot that Seitokai no Ichizon doesn’t take itself seriously, and never comes across as being smug about its humor. Some of these types of shows seem to smirk, and nudge you after making a joke – “Hey, hey,” it seems to say, “that was really clever of us, wasn’t it?” Thankfully, Seitokai no Ichizon avoids this, although this could be in part because it moves so quickly. In particular, I’ve been especially amused by jokes and references to older shows like Tenchi Muyo and Yu-Gi-Oh, although my favorite was probably their use of Mamiko Noto to parody Jigoku Shoujo.

Truly, Seitokai no Ichizon is very limited in its scope, but what it does, it does well. Its had very few flat jokes, something surprising given how many jokes it makes. The jokes about Sakurano’s body are a bit tedious, but they’ve lessened considerably as the show has gone on. The characters are broad stereotypes, but they’re amusing nonetheless, which is really all they’re supposed to be. It may not be anything special, but it makes me laugh, and that’s actually more than I had been expecting anyway.

In other news: GAAAAH HOLY FUCK MY STREAM OF THE PATS-COLTS GAME JUST STOPPED WORKING WHAT THE FUCCKKKKK

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Seitokai no Ichizon Half-Season Review

  1. Baka-Raptor says:

    The Jigoku Shoujo parody was fantastic. It was one of the few jokes on this show that got me laughing out loud. But even if most of the jokes don’t impress me, at least they move quickly (unlike Lucky Star and Maria+Holic, which can’t stop masturbating to their own jokes).

    And Belichick made the statistically correct call, just so you know. At least the Patroits will make the playoffs. All three of my teams (Giants, Steelers, Titans) are on the verge of painfully missing by a game, kind of like the Patriots last year.

Comments are closed.