Hakushaku to Yousei Half-Season Review

hakushaku-to-yousei

YESSS SHOUJO WITH SEX!!!

…Ok, or, maybe just shoujo that is willing to lead me to believe it’ll have some sex in it.

Hakushaku to Yousei is, admittedly, pretty silly so far. But its also pretty fun, and unlike a few other shows this season, it isn’t pretending to be anything meaningful – its just weaving its story as any show its type should, and keeping viewers entertained in the meantime.

Honestly, HakuYou is almost exactly the definition of disposable entertainment, but there isn’t anything inherently wrong with that, so long as it nails the execution. And HakuYou is doing that fairly well, even if it is making a few of us giggle along the way (so, apparently fairy doctors have the magical ability to breathe under-water? also, the talking cat is pretty ridiculous-looking, even if he is hilarious).

All of which to say that HakuYou is enjoyable thus far, but isn’t quite leaving an impression – bet on this being a show you watch and forget you ever did about six months later.

This entry was posted in A Day Without Me, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hakushaku to Yousei Half-Season Review

  1. Since it’s in the ending sequence, I guess you could say the sex is paratextual.

    I’m definitely in the ‘will forget this in six months’ camp, but to my surprise I wouldn’t mind seeing more of this show get made. There seems to be more story to be told than will comfortably fit in thirteen episodes anyway.

  2. adaywithoutme says:

    @ The Animanachronism – Hee~ paratextual sex… so is it parsextual?

    Sorry, the twelve year old boy that dwells in my soul made me do that.

    I would agree that I’d like to see more than just thirteen episodes of this – yeah, its pretty disposable, but its also a lot of fun, and it goes down easier than all the horror I’m watching this season (Jigoku Shoujo, Mouryou no Hako, Kurozuka, etc) – nice to have it break up things a little in my viewing experience.

Comments are closed.